Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
UBBDev.com
UBBWiki.com
Who's Online
5 registered (Ruben, Stan, SteveS, tradge, Pilgrim), 46 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Featured Member
Registered: 12/20/03
Posts: 4423
Top Posters (30 Days)
Ruben 51
DennyP 24
Gizmo 23
Dunny 17
SteveS 14
AllenAyres 12
SD 10
dbremer 10
drkknght00 9
driv 8
Latest Photos
OK Corral Shoot Out
Testing
Basildon Train Station
Basildon Town Centre looking from the rounderbout
Basildon Town Square
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#182957 - 04/21/07 09:37 AM *?!%" - I'm annoyed now!
ScriptKeeper Offline

veteran
Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: UK
I just received an e-mail telling me that one of my domains was available to purchase from a company in Canada for $199!

I've sent them a stinking e-mail but it's really p*****d me off! How can they do this?

If they can advertise domains at extortionate prices that are not for sale, and are clearly not theirs to sell, there is nothing to stop some unfortunate individual from making a purchase and parting with money for nothing. Surely they can’t be allowed to get away with this!

The URL is webnamesolution(dot)com (don’t want to hyperlink).

Webname Solution
1256 Guy Street
Montreal,
Quebec H3H 2L3
Canada
(646) 964-6515
Top
Express Hosting
Express Hosting "We are the official hosting company of UBB.threads. Ask us about our free migration services to migrate your UBB.threads installation."
#182960 - 04/21/07 11:42 AM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Rick Offline
Post-a-holic
Registered: 06/04/06
Posts: 10164
Loc: Aberdeen, WA
Hmm, maybe they were offering to buy it? Looks like they have a search available for the domains they have for sale and when I punch in your domain name it shows up with 0 results.
Top
#182963 - 04/21/07 12:07 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Rick]
ScriptKeeper Offline

veteran
Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: UK
No, they're definately not offering to buy it from me. The domain in question is autiotoolsdirect (old site) which is currently on a redirect to autiotoolers (new site). Pop that in the search and you can be ripped off to the tune of $199.95!
Top
#182972 - 04/21/07 05:15 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4447
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
Have you done a whois to see who owns it?

Failing that its your registrar thats throwing it in the ads.
_________________________
Version v7.5.6 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
Oooo i hear 8 is coming? just after 7 my friend.
Top
#182973 - 04/21/07 06:10 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Mark S]
Stan Online   partay

old hand
Registered: 06/05/06
Posts: 709
How can they sell your site? Or did you let it expire?
Top
#182983 - 04/21/07 06:36 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Stan]
Gizmo Offline

Registered: 06/05/06
Posts: 14994
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Likely they have a backorder on it and are trying to get you to pay them in an attempt to get it... i've received a few notices like that from places... craziness...
_________________________
Forums: UGN Security & VNC Web Design & Development
UBB.Threads: UBB.Wiki, My UBBSkins, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime UBB Supporter, UBB Beta Tester & Resident Post-A-Holic.
UBB Modifications, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Top
#182987 - 04/21/07 07:27 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Gizmo]
ScriptKeeper Offline

veteran
Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: UK
Mark S: "Have you done a whois to see who owns it?"

I own it. The whois record for the domain is maintained by me.

Stan: "How can they sell your site? Or did you let it expire?"

They can't, that's the whole point. The domain expires Feb 2008 and I have locked it so it can't be transferred to anyone.

Gizmo: "Likely they have a backorder on it and are trying to get you to pay them in an attempt to get it..."

That's not how I read it:
 Quote:
Limited Time Offer...!!!
The domain name audiotoolsdirect.com is for sale exclusively by webnamesolution. Hurry and take advantage of this limited time special offer $199.95 USD.
Domain Name: audiotoolsdirect.com
Price: $199.95 USD
To purchase this domain and take advantage of this Special Offer click on the link below

I know the domain is secure. What annoys me is:
1. They are trying to sell me something that I already own.
2. Someone could make a purchase on their web site and be parting with money for something they can't have.

I'm not saying that anyone would specifically want that domain but how many others on that site are bogus?
Top
#182993 - 04/21/07 09:39 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4447
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
There are loads of scams in the UK

letters arrive through the post to renew your domain at £60 ~ £80 for a .co.uk

Its scandless and because they look real people pay!

There put together very cleverly.
_________________________
Version v7.5.6 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
Oooo i hear 8 is coming? just after 7 my friend.
Top
#187565 - 06/18/07 05:22 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Mark S]
driv Offline

Pooh-Bah
Registered: 01/10/04
Posts: 2377
Domain Registration of America --- is one that springs to mind.

They send out renewals on good quality paper, they look very official. I'm sure many are fooled.

Now that I'm typing this, it's making me think... Wasn't there a 'Crimewatch' on this guy?

Any UK readers remember that?

I have the feeling that this guy was put away, but that he wasn't stopped from trading and his company continues.
_________________________
Using version :: 7.5.6
Top
#187578 - 06/18/07 06:12 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: driv]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4447
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
Speaking of Domains, i'm getting £80 renewals from nominet via e-mail.
yeh of-course i'm going to pay that.

Nominet= uk registration registrar
_________________________
Version v7.5.6 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
Oooo i hear 8 is coming? just after 7 my friend.
Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  AllenAyres, Harold, Ian, Ron M 
Shout Box

Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent Topics
Temporary Password email not being received
by
05/24/12 10:02 PM
Ability to "like" individual posts (not Facebook "likes)
by doug
05/23/12 09:03 AM
Island Permissions
by ThreadsUser
05/22/12 03:03 PM
streaming video
by prkrgrp
05/20/12 07:02 PM
New Posts Corrupted? Can someone help?
by PianoWorld
05/19/12 09:41 AM
Forum Stats
10489 Members
36 Forums
33841 Topics
181706 Posts

Max Online: 978 @ 06/24/07 11:19 PM
Random Image