Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
Who's Online
1 registered (Gizmo), 18 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Featured Member
Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 62
Top Posters (30 Days)
Ruben Rocha 179
Gizmo 112
Rick 109
Thelockman 80
driv 43
AllenAyres 35
ntdoc 28
Ian 24
Sirdude 23
ScriptKeeper 20
Latest Photos
My Home System
test photo gallery
Bernese Mountain Dogs
My Daimler
Dorado and shark
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#182957 - 04/21/07 06:37 AM *?!%" - I'm annoyed now!
ScriptKeeper Offline
old hand
***

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1039
Loc: UK
I just received an e-mail telling me that one of my domains was available to purchase from a company in Canada for $199!

I've sent them a stinking e-mail but it's really p*****d me off! How can they do this?

If they can advertise domains at extortionate prices that are not for sale, and are clearly not theirs to sell, there is nothing to stop some unfortunate individual from making a purchase and parting with money for nothing. Surely they can’t be allowed to get away with this!

The URL is webnamesolution(dot)com (don’t want to hyperlink).

Webname Solution
1256 Guy Street
Montreal,
Quebec H3H 2L3
Canada
(646) 964-6515

Top
#182960 - 04/21/07 08:42 AM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Rick Administrator Offline

*****

Registered: 06/04/06
Posts: 7898
Loc: Aberdeen, WA
Hmm, maybe they were offering to buy it? Looks like they have a search available for the domains they have for sale and when I punch in your domain name it shows up with 0 results.
_________________________
UBB.threads™ Developer
My Personal Website · StogieSmokers.com

Top
#182963 - 04/21/07 09:07 AM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Rick]
ScriptKeeper Offline
old hand
***

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1039
Loc: UK
No, they're definately not offering to buy it from me. The domain in question is autiotoolsdirect (old site) which is currently on a redirect to autiotoolers (new site). Pop that in the search and you can be ripped off to the tune of $199.95!

Top
#182972 - 04/21/07 02:15 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
***

Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4044
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
Have you done a whois to see who owns it?

Failing that its your registrar thats throwing it in the ads.
_________________________
Version v7.2.2 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
To answer the question you must first give a question.

Top
#182973 - 04/21/07 03:10 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Mark S]
Stan Offline
addict

Registered: 06/05/06
Posts: 416
How can they sell your site? Or did you let it expire?

Top
#182983 - 04/21/07 03:36 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Stan]
Gizmo Moderator Online   sleepy

***

Registered: 06/04/06
Posts: 12007
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Likely they have a backorder on it and are trying to get you to pay them in an attempt to get it... i've received a few notices like that from places... craziness...
_________________________
UGN Security, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner
Longtime UBB Supporter, UBB7 Beta Tester & Resident Post-A-Holic

Top
#182987 - 04/21/07 04:27 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Gizmo]
ScriptKeeper Offline
old hand
***

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1039
Loc: UK
Mark S: "Have you done a whois to see who owns it?"

I own it. The whois record for the domain is maintained by me.

Stan: "How can they sell your site? Or did you let it expire?"

They can't, that's the whole point. The domain expires Feb 2008 and I have locked it so it can't be transferred to anyone.

Gizmo: "Likely they have a backorder on it and are trying to get you to pay them in an attempt to get it..."

That's not how I read it:
 Quote:
Limited Time Offer...!!!
The domain name audiotoolsdirect.com is for sale exclusively by webnamesolution. Hurry and take advantage of this limited time special offer $199.95 USD.
Domain Name: audiotoolsdirect.com
Price: $199.95 USD
To purchase this domain and take advantage of this Special Offer click on the link below

I know the domain is secure. What annoys me is:
1. They are trying to sell me something that I already own.
2. Someone could make a purchase on their web site and be parting with money for something they can't have.

I'm not saying that anyone would specifically want that domain but how many others on that site are bogus?

Top
#182993 - 04/21/07 06:39 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: ScriptKeeper]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
***

Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4044
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
There are loads of scams in the UK

letters arrive through the post to renew your domain at £60 ~ £80 for a .co.uk

Its scandless and because they look real people pay!

There put together very cleverly.
_________________________
Version v7.2.2 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
To answer the question you must first give a question.

Top
#187565 - 06/18/07 02:22 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: Mark S]
driv Offline
Pooh-Bah
****

Registered: 01/10/04
Posts: 1703
Loc: Essex, UK
Domain Registration of America --- is one that springs to mind.

They send out renewals on good quality paper, they look very official. I'm sure many are fooled.

Now that I'm typing this, it's making me think... Wasn't there a 'Crimewatch' on this guy?

Any UK readers remember that?

I have the feeling that this guy was put away, but that he wasn't stopped from trading and his company continues.
_________________________
Oi Oi Saveloy!
(Courtesy of Sd - well known Anglophile...!?!)
My True star rating wink

Top
#187578 - 06/18/07 03:12 PM Re: *?!%" - I'm annoyed now! [Re: driv]
Mark S Offline
Carpal Tunnel
***

Registered: 07/04/06
Posts: 4044
Loc: Liverpool : England : UK
Speaking of Domains, i'm getting £80 renewals from nominet via e-mail.
yeh of-course i'm going to pay that.

Nominet= uk registration registrar
_________________________
Version v7.2.2 smile smile < Threads satisfaction status
People who inspire me Rick Gizmo Ian David jgeoff ntdoc
To answer the question you must first give a question.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Shout Box

Today's Birthdays
brushie, cass, Monte G., twebman, White Gold Wielder
Recent Topics
Shrinking graemlins
by Djuma
Today at 05:48 PM
2 problems I'm seeing now.
by DougMM
Today at 04:39 PM
Which CSS Style Controls the bottom lines
by David DelMonte
Today at 01:51 PM
UBBThreads vs. vBulletin -- Defections & Why So Tough to Compare?
by WebMagic
Today at 12:28 PM
Font and column shifts occuring
by Bill B
Yesterday at 06:21 PM
Forum Stats
4261 Members
33 Forums
30532 Topics
154962 Posts

Max Online: 978 @ 06/24/07 08:19 PM