Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
UBBDev.com
UBBWiki.com
Who's Online
1 registered (driv), 35 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Featured Member
Registered: 11/22/06
Posts: 163
Top Posters (30 Days)
Ruben 51
DennyP 24
Gizmo 24
Dunny 15
SteveS 14
AllenAyres 12
dbremer 10
SD 10
drkknght00 9
doug 8
Latest Photos
OK Corral Shoot Out
Testing
Basildon Train Station
Basildon Town Centre looking from the rounderbout
Basildon Town Square
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#208654 - 03/16/08 06:28 PM Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com
ScriptKeeper Offline

veteran
Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: UK
I keep getting hit by this. The IP is China but every time it says that the referrer is UBBCentral. The site displayed, fiherhome.com does not exist.


Attachments
ubbcref.gif


Top
Express Hosting
Express Hosting "We are the official hosting company of UBB.threads. Ask us about our free migration services to migrate your UBB.threads installation."
#208655 - 03/16/08 06:38 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: ScriptKeeper]
jgeoff Offline
Pooh-Bah
Registered: 08/08/06
Posts: 1922
Loc: NJ

That is odd since fiherhome.com isn't even registered. Google has only 5 results for fiherhome, one of which is this page referencing a FiherHome Telecommunication Technologies Co., Ltd., Wuhan 430074, China

The "Agent" line it's appearing in leads me to believe it may be a manual entry into some browser program, but I may be wrong.

Woah, funny you just mentioned this because I just checked Who's Online on my site and fiherhome is there, too! laugh
_________________________
GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.5.6)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (Win7 and iPhone); No IE, ever!
Top
#208658 - 03/16/08 06:45 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: jgeoff]
ScriptKeeper Offline

veteran
Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: UK
I've just checked my server log and it's at the top of the list with 900+ page views. That's 500 more that anything or anyone else so I've blocked it in my .htaccess file.
Top
#208659 - 03/16/08 06:50 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: ScriptKeeper]
jgeoff Offline
Pooh-Bah
Registered: 08/08/06
Posts: 1922
Loc: NJ

Woah! Thanks for the heads-up wink
_________________________
GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.5.6)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (Win7 and iPhone); No IE, ever!
Top
#213757 - 05/30/08 02:45 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: jgeoff]
jgeoff Offline
Pooh-Bah
Registered: 08/08/06
Posts: 1922
Loc: NJ

Anyone ever figure out what this fiherhome.com business is, and why it is ALWAYS being referred from ubbcentral.com? Bizarre...!

Fiherhome.com still isn't registered - someone could probably make a lot of money from it laugh
_________________________
GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.5.6)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (Win7 and iPhone); No IE, ever!
Top
#213759 - 05/30/08 03:01 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: jgeoff]
jmt123 Offline
stranger
Registered: 05/17/08
Posts: 10
Someone "could" make a lot of money from it.

OTOH, someone "could" be accused of lots of malicious acts and spend a lot of money defending themselves.

You won't catch me registering it.

Is it possible that it is the real deal in China and has no English equivalent and through translation of the Chineese stick figure writing, it comes out with that name?
Top
#213760 - 05/30/08 03:07 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: jmt123]
JAISP Offline
old hand
Registered: 02/10/07
Posts: 1144
Its a Spam but searching message boards looking for links to other sites. Once it finds a site with open registration it may try to register and then post spam on your board once. If it gets a post it may then try to spam the crap outta your board.

I have seen this activity in other forums all over and they are usually from China. The funny thing is that they usually use a proxy of some sort.

It most likely found this site by way of the UBB.threads link at the bottom of someone's board in the "Powered by" copyright.
Top
#213762 - 05/30/08 03:44 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: JAISP]
jgeoff Offline
Pooh-Bah
Registered: 08/08/06
Posts: 1922
Loc: NJ

Good enough for me - I'm blocking it smile
_________________________
GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.5.6)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (Win7 and iPhone); No IE, ever!
Top
#214006 - 06/04/08 09:02 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: jgeoff]
Basil Offline
addict
Registered: 08/18/06
Posts: 685
Loc: Southwest US
I'd block the entire range associated with it.
Top
#214007 - 06/04/08 09:45 PM Re: Is this a bot? Referred from ubbcentral.com [Re: Basil]
Gizmo Offline

Registered: 06/05/06
Posts: 14995
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
You know, whereas blocking the range in a lot of cases will hit sites hosted on the same server; it won't ALWAYS do that... You could actually block legit users (assuming that the block is actually used by other users and not just a server farm).

For example, I own IP's .15x, but I don't own anything other than that, they're owned by other users in my datacenter; now if i where to just block the whole class C, that'd hit a load of users who wouldn't be ones even associated with the org...
_________________________
Forums: UGN Security & VNC Web Design & Development
UBB.Threads: UBB.Wiki, My UBBSkins, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime UBB Supporter, UBB Beta Tester & Resident Post-A-Holic.
UBB Modifications, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  AllenAyres, Harold, Ian, Ron M 
Shout Box

Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent Topics
Due Date Calculator-Calculate When Your Baby is Due
by StewartMyduedate
12:54 AM
Temporary Password email not being received
by
05/24/12 10:02 PM
Ability to "like" individual posts (not Facebook "likes)
by doug
05/23/12 09:03 AM
Island Permissions
by ThreadsUser
05/22/12 03:03 PM
streaming video
by prkrgrp
05/20/12 07:02 PM
Forum Stats
10491 Members
36 Forums
33842 Topics
181709 Posts

Max Online: 978 @ 06/24/07 11:19 PM
Random Image