Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
L
L Offline
Giz: my UBB version is 7.4.1

Ruben: I just set it back to what it was. I had a backup of the config and just used that.

I really think this is a bug (in fact I'm sure it is.) The UBB should not do this defaulting unless the two names are guaranteed to be compatible. And EVEN if the two names were compatible, it still shouldn't have changed it. Fields shouldn't auto-magically change without explicit direction from the administrator.

Member since November 2004
Gold Member since Feb 2008
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Yeh, the UBB shouldn't be changing what the data for the dbuser when it's set to something else... Very odd...

If I get some time I'm going to go drudge through the script/template files and see if i can notice anything; though I have a feeling that Yarp™ may beat me to it by then lol...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Well UBB has nothing to do with MYsql as far as servername,User Name and password.
You enter that info in ubb so it can access the database.
It is like giving ubb a login to the database.
So ubb did not change the db login it was just wrong in the config file
Phpmyadim is a standalone db tool which again has nothing to do with UBB.
So when you selected the connection settings something must have corrupted the ubb config file. Especially if you restored the old config file and it is working again.
So something was changed in the config file due to whatever reason. It was probably so slight and unobtrusive you overlooked it checking for errors.