Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
JPG #259561 02/27/2017 5:53 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Originally Posted by JPG
I've been running UBB for about 17 years on multiple forums. I'm just trying to offer you some feedback based on my experience with our users. I never said a user could not figure out what "select file" or "drag and drop" means. The Attachment Manager is quirky when you try to upload an image that is too large. Like I said in the last post, the average user does not always understand the file size of their photos.

As for SD's image uploader, we've been using it for a few years and it's offered our members a nice solution to uploading images directly without having to use a third party host. Also, as I stated, we are using the image uploader on our forums that have not been upgraded to 7.6.

Since you mentioned that you have not upgraded from 7.5, the Attachment manager has been completely updated for UBB.threads 7.6

UBB.threads 7.6 Attachment Manager
There is a progress indicator for upload.
There is feedback if the file type is too big or if its the wrong type.
Its fully drang-and-drop friendly.
you are given a preview of the image you've attached.
you can easily remove attached files.
its mobile friendly (works on Android, iOS, Windows).
attachments are sorted in order of upload.
If a user types a description per each file, that description is displayed under the filename and thumbnail.
and more!

See attached file, for what happens when you attempt to upload a file which is too big.

edit: these are the changelog posts regarding the attachment manager in 7.6. you can skim through them and read the progress from 7.5 to what they are now, in 7.6
https://www.ubbcentral.com/forums/u...-0-changelog-not-yet-released#Post258788
https://www.ubbcentral.com/forums/u...-0-changelog-not-yet-released#Post258789
https://www.ubbcentral.com/forums/u...-0-changelog-not-yet-released#Post258844