Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
UBBDev.com
UBBWiki.com
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Gizmo, mmkk), 69 guests, and 243 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Member Spotlight
M4TT
M4TT
Canada, SK
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2015
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Gizmo 14
FREAK 11
M4TT 9
mmkk 5
Ruben 4
isaac 4
Latest Photos
Chinese Buddhist temple.
My buddha beads.
Rendered Walls
Multi-Screen wallpaper
Stockholm Metro
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Change Environment Variables #109127
04/22/05 03:09 PM
04/22/05 03:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
R
rossmac Offline OP
stranger
rossmac  Offline OP
stranger
R
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
posted April 22, 2005 12:08 PM
Hi All,

I've got a client using the UBB v5.47. It resides on a Windows 2000 server (on a private intranet). The web site in IIS was changed from name1 to name2. From what I'm told, nothing else changed. Now, they are unable to view their posts and attachments. The scripts do not indicate they failed, they just don't see the posts.

They attempted to change some settings using the control panel in UBB, but they do not see any environment variable changes afterwards. What do I need to tell them to do in order to have the UBB work with the new web site name?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Best Regards,

Express Hosting
Express Hosting "We are the official hosting company of UBB.threads. Ask us about our free migration services to migrate your UBB.threads installation."
Re: Change Environment Variables #109128
04/22/05 07:53 PM
04/22/05 07:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,199
David Dreezer Offline

Pooh-Bah
David Dreezer  Offline

Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,199
ask them to open vars_config.cgi and check all of the data inside it. Then, if you're using the accelerater look in your NONCGI for vars.config.php and make sure that's correct too.

Once those two files are correct you can log into the control panel and reset/double check everything else.

Of course permisison need to be correct as well.


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image]
Re: Change Environment Variables #109129
04/25/05 10:11 AM
04/25/05 10:11 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
R
rossmac Offline OP
stranger
rossmac  Offline OP
stranger
R
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply, but there is no vars_config.cgi in the cgi (or any other) directory.

I see cpanel.cgi and cpanel2, 3 & 4 .cgi. I also see forumdisplay.cgi (and of course, others). I also see a varible_files directory with a forums.cgi in it.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.

Re: Change Environment Variables #109130
04/25/05 05:07 PM
04/25/05 05:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,199
David Dreezer Offline

Pooh-Bah
David Dreezer  Offline

Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,199
You'll want to look at UltBB.setup instead.

There also sounds like there's some file permission issues floating around. Make sure that UltBB.setup, styles.file, forums.cgi, mods.file, and the entire NonCGI directory tree have everything short of Full Control by the IUSR_ account on the machine.

Do note that official support for the 5-series ended last month. Please upgrade ASAP.


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image]

Shout Box
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent Topics
Shout Box Sound Effect
by M4TT. 11/29/17 08:28 PM
Ad island
by TGCsanderson. 11/25/17 06:41 PM
Taking to long to connect to DB
by AstroCat. 11/24/17 12:34 PM
I want to update forum but can't find license
by dimaninc. 11/23/17 10:51 AM
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics35,014
Posts190,530
Members12,045
Most Online978
Jun 24th, 2007
Random Image
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Snapshot build 20171106)