Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Ok, I am a member of a lot of communities, and at times I get bombarded with spam or abusive messages (who me? never...); and I have always hoped for one feature alone as an owner of several websites to thwart such things...

A way for members to "alert" the message in question to an admin so that they can monitor users and know who's contacting who about differant abusive issues...

What do you think of a link that flags the message for admin oversight? Kinda like what MySpace has...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
old hand
old hand
Thankfully, my users have alerted me to scum bags who register only to PM spam to people.

I hear what you are saying. You want to know what is going on, on your board. However, it can get into dangerous territory if your users think you are monitoring their private communications.

A simple way is to put up a post asking users to let you know about any spam/abusive messages and who sent them.

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
see, i'm looking at an option to just flag specific messages; theres nothing to stop me from opening PHPMyAdmin and reading pm's, so it's not like it'd be anything differant short of users alerting to abusive pt's and spam...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel