Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
addict
addict
Currently when notify emails are sent to users when a PM has been sent to them, it's just a basic email with the notification blurb, and a link.

I'd like to include the PM contents in the email too. Can somebody tell me where to start and/or how difficult this would be?

Thanks a lot! smile

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Originally Posted by rmjorg
I'd like to include the PM contents in the email too. Can somebody tell me where to start and/or how difficult this would be?
It's not a possibity in the current codebase; Rick has however finally stated (much nagging on my part and numerous feature requests) that he'l be working on something in a future build (7.2?)

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
addict
addict
Well, we sort of have got it working, but there are some buts ...

We modified sendmessages.inc.php to include the message body in the recipient NOTIFY section. This works, but only for the original PM. Any replies or further PMs to that thread send the notify email, but no body text.

I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
Yep - that was as far as I got LOL

Didn't go too much further as hopefully it will be in 7.2 smile

SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
I've done this on my board and taken advantage of the mailer class to make it more UI friendly (HTML) than just a plain text email.

Shoot me a PM and i can point you in the right direction.

W
old hand
old hand
W Offline