Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#187284 06/17/2007 8:44 AM
addict
addict
I'm wondering how many of you have experienced "Virtual Private Servers". We are currently dissatisfied with our hosting company, and somebody here (Gizmo I think) recommended this company.

At the best of times it's scary to change hosting companies, so I really want to research before making the big step.

What's been your experience with hosting companies, and have you tried the VPS's or looked into them?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Myself, Allen, and a handful of clients have utilized WebIntellects and have had positive results.

Myself I wouldn't even think of using reseller hosting; overloaded servers are a thing of the past when you're on a VPS and GUARANTEED a set of resources...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
addict
addict
Are there any downsides, Gizmo?

H
Addict
Addict
H Offline
I have a reseller account with VertexHost and they aren't overloaded or overbooked. They aren't really cheap, yet they are worth it.

I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
We never overload our servers that we sell space to clients.

I do not believe in it.

At the most we are looking at 100-200 sites per server - but if a site is a heavy user it will be moved so as not to affect other users.

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Originally Posted by Rose
Are there any downsides, Gizmo?