Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
you don't want to have to deal with the [`code] and [`php] scrollbars that occur, when the pasted content exceeds 150px in height (hardwired in ubbthreads.inc.php) and the css for the style you are using has a width that isn't fluid.

just do this:

go to your firefox profile/chrome directory .. Linky Poo <-- locate where your profile is

edit a file and call it 'userContent.css' (you'll already see one in there named 'userContent.css-example' that came with the FF install.

simply paste the following in there:

Code
.ubbcode-block, .ubbcode-header, .ubbcode-body {
width: auto ! important;
height: auto ! important;
}

*poof* scroll bars gonzo.

there is also a solution for Opera that i know of too, but i won't include that here.

only apply this IF you are a firefox user and you don't want scroll bars and you are slightly geeky laugh . it doesn't do anything else than that.

ps: you have to restart FF for it to take effect 2c

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Let's give it a try and see how it works.

Code
Break On

        "Memory info on local computer:" ?
        "Location	Capacity	Speed" ?
        For each $memModule in PhysicalMemoryInfo('msea001')
         $memModule[0] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[1] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[4] ?
        Next
        ? "Done."
        get $

Function PhysicalMemoryInfo(optional $sComp)
dim $fF,$mT,$oWMI,$oM,$tMem[0]

 if not $sComp
  $sComp = "."
 endif
 $fF="Unknown","Other","SIP","DIP","ZIP","SOJ","Proprietary","SIMM","DIMM","TSOP","PGA",
  "RIMM","SODIMM","SRIMM","SMD","SSMP","QFP","TQFP","SOIC","LCC","PLCC","BGA","FPBGA","LGA"
 $mT="Unknown","Other","DRAM","Synchronous DRAM","Cache DRAM","EDO","EDRAM","VRAM","SRAM",
  "RAM","ROM","Flash","EEPROM","FEPROM","EPROM","CDRAM","3DRAM","SDRAM","SGRAM","RDRAM","DDR"

 $oWMI = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" + $sComp + "\root\cimv2")
 if @error exit @error endif
 For each $oM in $oWMI.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_PhysicalMemory",,48)
  $tMem[ubound($tMem)]=$oM.DeviceLocator,1 * $oM.Capacity / 1048576,
  $fF[$oM.FormFactor], $mT[$oM.MemoryType], $oM.Speed,$oM.DataWidth
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)+1]
 Next
 if 0<ubound($tMem)
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)-1]
 endif
 $PhysicalMemoryInfo=$tMem
EndFunction


Looking sweet in preview mode.


Thanks SD looks great when posted for me

Last edited by ntdoc; 07/16/2007 6:04 PM.
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
you're welcome nt

[Linked Image from sirdude.com]

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Test 2

Code
Break On

        "Memory info on local computer:" ?
        "Location	Capacity	Speed" ?
        For each $memModule in PhysicalMemoryInfo('msea001')
         $memModule[0] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[1] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[4] ?
        Next
        ? "Done."
        get $

Function PhysicalMemoryInfo(optional $sComp)
dim $fF,$mT,$oWMI,$oM,$tMem[0]

 if not $sComp
  $sComp = "."
 endif
 $fF="Unknown","Other","SIP","DIP","ZIP","SOJ","Proprietary","SIMM","DIMM","TSOP","PGA",
  "RIMM","SODIMM","SRIMM","SMD","SSMP","QFP","TQFP","SOIC","LCC","PLCC","BGA","FPBGA","LGA"
 $mT="Unknown","Other","DRAM","Synchronous DRAM","Cache DRAM","EDO","EDRAM","VRAM","SRAM",
  "RAM","ROM","Flash","EEPROM","FEPROM","EPROM","CDRAM","3DRAM","SDRAM","SGRAM","RDRAM","DDR"

 $oWMI = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" + $sComp + "\root\cimv2")
 if @error exit @error endif
 For each $oM in $oWMI.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_PhysicalMemory",,48)
  $tMem[ubound($tMem)]=$oM.DeviceLocator,1 * $oM.Capacity / 1048576,
  $fF[$oM.FormFactor], $mT[$oM.MemoryType], $oM.Speed,$oM.DataWidth
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)+1]
 Next
 if 0<ubound($tMem)
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)-1]
 endif
 $PhysicalMemoryInfo=$tMem
EndFunction


do some more code....


Break On

        "Memory info on local computer:" ?
        "Location	Capacity	Speed" ?
        For each $memModule in PhysicalMemoryInfo('msea001')
         $memModule[0] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[1] chr(9) chr(9) $memModule[4] ?
        Next
        ? "Done."
        get $

Function PhysicalMemoryInfo(optional $sComp)
dim $fF,$mT,$oWMI,$oM,$tMem[0]

 if not $sComp
  $sComp = "."
 endif
 $fF="Unknown","Other","SIP","DIP","ZIP","SOJ","Proprietary","SIMM","DIMM","TSOP","PGA",
  "RIMM","SODIMM","SRIMM","SMD","SSMP","QFP","TQFP","SOIC","LCC","PLCC","BGA","FPBGA","LGA"
 $mT="Unknown","Other","DRAM","Synchronous DRAM","Cache DRAM","EDO","EDRAM","VRAM","SRAM",
  "RAM","ROM","Flash","EEPROM","FEPROM","EPROM","CDRAM","3DRAM","SDRAM","SGRAM","RDRAM","DDR"

 $oWMI = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" + $sComp + "\root\cimv2")
 if @error exit @error endif
 For each $oM in $oWMI.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_PhysicalMemory",,48)
  $tMem[ubound($tMem)]=$oM.DeviceLocator,1 * $oM.Capacity / 1048576,
  $fF[$oM.FormFactor], $mT[$oM.MemoryType], $oM.Speed,$oM.DataWidth
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)+1]
 Next
 if 0<ubound($tMem)
  redim preserve $tMem[ubound($tMem)-1]
 endif
 $PhysicalMemoryInfo=$tMem
EndFunction






As long as it stays just all code it's great.


Works very well here, but not quite as good over on my site which is running 7.1b5

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
ideally, we'll have a true syntax highlighter at some point.

i've already implemented one using code:c#, code:php, code:python... etc tags...

but i believe Ian has mentioned slamming his version of it in at some point down the road..

which will be real cool, imo.. i have a forum, within a board for just programming and having the highlighting makes a world of difference wink

Originally Posted by ntdoc
..but not quite as good over on my site which is running 7.1b5


if you point me to a specific, it may be a real simple fix.. my fix assumes some things about the ubbcode-xxx tags and the how the style handles it. yours may be slightly different and might have to also take into account height-max: xxx or whatever..

just a thought 2c

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Using the KONIRO theme.

http://www.kixtart.org/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=177992

On my site I still have scrollbars up and down but here only sideways which is to be expected.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
What's sad is that this is easily "fixable" by putting the css code back to how it initially was in threads before the "ie fix" that made the default that sets a max height and width which was basically just a workaround for a horrid implimentation of standardization by Microsoft in IE (or as I like to call it,
"creative interpretation of standardization")


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
nt, i posted a fix for you on your site.. it was as i guessed.

good luck! 2c

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by Gizmo
What's sad is that this is easily "fixable" by putting the css code back to how it initially was in threads before the "ie fix" that made the default that sets a max height and width which was basically just a workaround for a horrid implimentation of standardization by Microsoft in IE (or as I like to call it,
"creative interpretation of standardization")

The problem with this Gizzy is that since this site is used to actually promote the product we can't do that. We still have a good chunk of users that visit our forum using IE, and when they came to the forum with the old css settings and visited a topic that had code/php tags, any long strings would cause their entire browser to stretch. That's not a good way to promote the product wink Yes, the new way it's handled doesn't look as good in other browsers, but at least it's visible and doesn't give an extremely bad impression than when you need to scroll the whole entire window from side to side wink

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
<snicker> how about a browser detecter, that when it finds wonky crap browsers it shows them wonky crap code and the rest of us have something cool? lol...



I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Actually what about an on the fly Java browser check and change in place? If IE 5.5 use x, If IE6 use x-a, If IE7 use x-c, if FF or other use y


Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
That's what i was pointing at in my post (made just before you made yours lol)


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
Rick,

you make a good point and it makes a lot of sense to accommodate the #1 browser by far (in terms of # users). I was just suggesting that there be a non-default style (so new users aren't using it by design at first), that is selectable upon sign-up and negotiating to user prefs.

They then select the "Dark theme Mozilla style" or whatever and *poof* all is well as far as their browsing experience goes with code and php tags.

Since i didn't see that as a possibility, where i initially brought it up, the 'fix' was born.

I know that suggesting that we add another style is also a bummer, because that means there are more styles to maintain/upgrade. So the ideal solution is to have the css do the detecting and then act accordingly. That's easy peasy to do in css.

Once implemented, i would then think that we should remove the hardwired 'safety net' for the inline style of "height=150px". If anything, that should be just moved over to existing ubbcode-body style anyway.. 2c Thus a win/win, imho

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
ok to be fair,

Ian Spence better explained the reason for the height= value. Thanks Ian.

i can see why you need it in the code as an IE safety net as well as a VARIABLE value. my bad on that one.

sooo... 2 possibilities come to mind:

first, the HTML solution:

Code
...
<!--[if lt IE 7]>
	<style type="text/css">
		.ubbcode-iebody {
		height: {$height}em;
		}
	</style>
<![endif]-->
<div class="ubbcode-body ubbcode-pre ubbcode-iebody" >
...

second, the css one.

you can also avail yourself of the IE only processing of the expression() property in the css.

Code
...
.ubbcode-body{
   height:auto; /* for non-IE */
   height:expression(*[computational javascript] or [150+"px"]); /* for IE */
   ...
   }
...

* this javascript can be DOM aware and do the '\n' counting in the container div's innerHTML to determine height in ems or px (like do_markup() does now)

the height:expression(xx); will be ignored by all but IE.

keep in mind that it's not for just height.. it's for much more..

Linky Poo to Microsoft dynamic properties.

ps: these ideas can also be applied to the avatar height/width issues as well (imho)

2c

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
PM to Rick for same idea on do x if x detected. wink

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I believe limiting it to IE only is a valid fix; in fact i'm pretty sure i referanced this elsewhere well before... Again, why should non-IE users be punished because of their creative interpretation of web standards?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Well I think Rick will revisit how it's currently handled in 7.3
Hopefully at that time maybe get an updated routine

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
Would love to see it, then the IE users can have it "fixed" for them, and we can have it "sane" for us! smile


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
since i can't edit the original css proposed solution, i'd like to add that it wouldn't work, so the HTML conditional is really the only one that is workable.

additionally, using an inline class won't work either for the HTML solution, because it can have more than one [code] tag on a page. so the inline 'height=xx' would need to be surrounded by conditional(s) instead to allow for stripping at the output side.

that makes it viable.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD
Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
bleh, it would work actually. from what i see, the html solution could simply use the $i counter to name the class and make it work. so do_markup() should be able to do the job, without having to require smarty to the rescue..

not enough coffee, when i posted earlier frown


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
spam issues
by ECNet - 03/19/2024 11:45 PM
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 919 guests, and 149 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)