Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
B
BillT Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
B
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
I used mysqldump to backup the forum and the forum database. The forum database is 84,046,398 bytes tarred. I moved it to a new server (thanks to Gizmo's handy guide ! Now I want to prune the existing forums (on the old server) Through the ubbthreads control panel, it's only pruning 20 topics at a time every several seconds and there are 35,887 that need to be pruned. Pruning would take days at that rate, so I wondered if there are other options (i.e. direct sql command, etc.).

Thanks Gizmo, for the GREAT guide to get me started with the transfer! One note for you to possibly include in future editions of your guide: When the SQL and Web servers are different, the --host= command can be added to the mysqldump command (e.g. mysqldump --host=mysql.serverhost.tld -uusername -ppassword my_database_name > my_database_name.sql).

Bill

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,356
Y
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Y
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,356
Can't you just drop all the tables if you are moving anyway?


[Linked Image from siemons.org]
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
hehe, he tooted my horn...

But yeh, if you're moving away from the server, and are just dropping everything there, why not just drop the table, then delete the data from the web directory?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,356
Y
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Y
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,356
Usually you don't even have to care, if you leave, they'll drop everything for you smile


[Linked Image from siemons.org]
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
Originally Posted by blaaskaak
Usually you don't even have to care, if you leave, they'll drop everything for you smile
Exactly


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
B
BillT Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
B
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Originally, I moved the forums just to "test" them on a new server (several users were having issues). Another test was to clean up tons of older posts on the existing servers. I'd still like there are other options for pruning but it's not as important now because I've decided to go with the new server and will be moving tons of stuff on several sites over the next several weeks. Should be fun...not. But I've done it before so I have several tricks in my back pocket already for how to work around propagation issues, etc.

Thanks,
Bill

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
I'm having problems pruning topics in UBB Threads 7.1.1 too. (I tried it for the first time earlier today.) I don't know if it's been updated in later versions, but it usually just times out after 30 seconds...and that's when it's only trying to prune about 50 topics. Our board has 580,000 posts, by the way, consuming 1GB of hard drive space. I'd like to suggest that the pruning feature be tweaked for the new 7.3 version to make it useful for people with large boards.


RnJpZW5kc2hpcCB3aXRoIHRoZSB3b3JsZCBpcyBob3N0aWxpdH
kgdG93YXJkcyBHb2QuICBKYW1lcyA0OjQ=
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
yah i can see large board on shared server being a prob. there are ways to make it better smile

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
By the way, we own the server, and although it hosts email and some other small websites, nothing else really taxes the CPU other than the message board. It's a P4 2.0GHz with 1GB of RAM, soon to be upgraded to 2GB or RAM (just in case that helps).


RnJpZW5kc2hpcCB3aXRoIHRoZSB3b3JsZCBpcyBob3N0aWxpdH
kgdG93YXJkcyBHb2QuICBKYW1lcyA0OjQ=
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
'eh so long as your server is actually configured (optimized) to USE 1GB Ram (well, 2GB Ram after you upgrade) it should work fine... Most people end up keeping the apache and mysql defaults and never bother to update them when they have larger amounts of resources :shrug:


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
usually mysql out of the box isn't setup properly for a DB of that size.

i always end up tweaking the my.cnf to make it right. also php should be accellerated..

simple stuff goes a long way toward zoom zoom wink

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
"zoom, zooom, zoom"... lol


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 62
C
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 62
Hmm....that sounds like a good topic actually, some things that can be done to "optimize" settings for better performance...maybe even one flavored for LAMPs and one for the windows crowd.....

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,014
Likes: 58
Well, apache would be for apache, reguardless of lamp, windows, or linux... same really for mysql.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
I agree, a topic on optimizing mysql.ini would be great. After finishing the memory upgrade, I found that the key_buffer_size setting in the mysql.ini file was limiting memory usage to 40MB or something. I increased it to 500MB, and now the board seems to run really fast -- even though Task Manager only reports the mysql process using 80MB of RAM. (Note that phpmyadmin reports that the indexes on the posts table are using 370MB). I thought I had already configured the my.ini preset file, but I must have missed that setting.

Shane


RnJpZW5kc2hpcCB3aXRoIHRoZSB3b3JsZCBpcyBob3N0aWxpdH
kgdG93YXJkcyBHb2QuICBKYW1lcyA0OjQ=
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
You need first to make sure you have a kernel that will see and utilize 2,4,6 or more gigs of RAM.

After that, use this MySQL tuning guide on UBBdev then this one


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
v7.7.5 Active Topics Display Name Incorrect
by Jake - 11/17/2020 4:46 PM
custom islands in forums tool
by Ruben - 11/17/2020 3:21 PM
Captcha bug maybe?
by Morgan - 11/16/2020 8:34 AM
Facebook thumbnail issue
by DBryce - 11/08/2020 7:43 PM
No hop to menu in the category pages
by Morgan - 11/05/2020 4:19 PM
Who's Online Now
1 members (JAISP), 67 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5