Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#219662 11/26/2008 6:36 PM
G
stranger
stranger
G Offline
Just wanted to get some advice from a couple of gurus before I go off half cocked and get irate with my host provider...
Cannot get to my board receive the following error.
Script:
Line#:
SQL Error: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2)
Please verify that your MySQL server is running
SQL Error #: 2002
Query: Unable to connect to the database!

Just got this board working last month thanks to Rick with an upgrade/new install of 7.3?

Anyways I am by no means an expert but looks to me like this is on the server end??? Just wanted to check and see before I get the email from webhost provider tech support that proclaims it is a third party software problem..

http://www.challengeacademy.org/forum/ubbthreads.php

Thanks in advance to any advice given..

JT

JT
Are you able to connect to the tables using what your host control panel has. Such as MyPHPAdmin?
If so ftp to the site. Then goto config.inc.php in the includes folder and double check your database settings. It should be the first couple of lines in the file.

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
G
stranger
stranger
G Offline
I found config.php file what should I be looking for ????

JT
Depending on the version the top few lines should have the path and MYsql database settings:
Make sure they are correct
DATABASE_SERVER' => 'path to Mysql server',
'DATABASE_USER' => 'user Id',
'DATABASE_PASSWORD' => 'database password',
'DATABASE_NAME' => 'database name',
'TABLE_PREFIX' => 'usually ubbt_ if you used default',

Blue Man Group
G
stranger
stranger
G Offline
Ok I found the file and it is totally blank..looks like it was last modified this am around the same time I was initially checking the board... If I copy what the config.php file has in it is that the same???

JT

JT