Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
[FIXED] UBB.classic import error 3 #1585 07/21/2006 2:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Is this an error or not? I would guess that it's up to each an everyone to decide.

When you quote something here in threads it looks like this:

Quote:
This is a quote.

Nice table.

Is this is how a code looks like.
Code
This is some code.

Nice table.

In UBB.classic there was no nice tables, and it did look like in attachment 1 (only quote shown, but the same principle for code tag).

Now, when you import your data from UBB.classic why doesn't the quote and code tags get the new nice table look of threads?

I do believe that imported quotes and codes should get the new table look.

Attached Files 52-ubb7beta1-imp-err-02-ubbc.gif
Last edited by Rick; 10/03/2006 11:11 AM.
Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #1837 07/24/2006 1:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Rick Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Still working on this one. Part of this bug I believe is related to this one, in that it's not unencoding the quote tag properly.

Last edited by Rick; 07/24/2006 1:05 PM.
Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Rick] #2145 08/01/2006 8:17 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
This has improved a lot in B2, but some quotes and codes are still showing the classic "view".

The attachment that I listed in the first post is still the same, but many others are now showing as UBB.threads "tables".

Here are some more quotes that still are wrong.

Attached Files 73-ubb7beta2-import-error-01-quotes-01.gif74-ubb7beta2-import-error-01-quotes-02.gif
Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #2161 08/01/2006 1:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Rick Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Still trying to figure out why some are being decoded and some not. If you get a chance, can you look at the source of one of the posts like the one where it says "Fair enough, Bill" and post the html that is used for that quote?

Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Rick] #2200 08/02/2006 12:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
I've sent the code to you, and here are pictures on the complete posts both in classic and in threads.
(I had to cut the threads picture a bit to fit the 100k limit, but the important stuff is there)

Attached Files 75-ubb7beta2-import-error-01-quotes-02-complete-c.gif77-ubb7beta2-import-error-01-quotes-02-complete-t-cut.gif
Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #2950 08/28/2006 10:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
The problem is still here, at least the "Fair enough, Bill" message (I didn't check more than this one).

Still needs to be fixed.

Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #3197 09/12/2006 1:44 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
This error does still exist in B5.

I think that I know see the reason to why this goes wrong in the import, and that is that the code for the post looks to be "wrong". Instead of the normal "code" tags some html code is there. For the "Fair enough, Bill" the code looks like this:
Code
<blockquote>
<font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">
quote:</font><hr />
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">
Fair enough, Bill</font><hr />
</blockquote>
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">
 </font>


My guess is that it should look like this, in order to import correct.
Code
[code]Fair enough, Bill[ /code]

(one space inserted on the end tag above in order for it to list correct)

Why there is some html code in the post, I have no idea. I looks OK in classic...

Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #4017 10/03/2006 1:03 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Peter Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Rick,

The correction for [ RC1. UBB.classic import error 5 ] did also fix this problem!

You can mark this error as FIXED.

Re: UBB.classic import error 3 [Re: Peter] #4028 10/03/2006 11:10 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Rick Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,243
Good to hear wink


Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Mobile app?
by Baldeagle - 12/06/2019 9:32 PM
How do you change Text Line spacing?
by jorb - 11/23/2019 12:14 AM
What happened to FAQ or Forum Help
by Ruben - 11/20/2019 11:58 AM
Search feature encountering an Error message
by jorb - 11/20/2019 12:06 AM
Followed List v7.7.2 Question
by Ruben - 11/12/2019 12:22 PM
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (JAISP), 64 guests, and 350 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20191023)