Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
We're getting ready to move our UBB Threads forum from 1 provider to another (Linux --> Linux). But they have disabled telnet access. Is there a way to use a scraping program and force all of the forums/topics/replies into a clean install of the program? Any other tricks or work-arounds?

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Use phpMyAdmin. It can export your old database into a single file, and load it into the new database. Version 2.5.2-pl1 is probably the best to use.

-----
UBB.threads beta tester / threadsdev.com moderator
Software consulting services including UBB.threads problem resolution / installs / upgrades / customization.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Err OK I installed it...kind of a MySQL newbie here...can you provide any further guidance? What will actually "scrape" the forums & threads?

<a href="http://www.beezoo.com/" target="_blank">
beezoo.com</a>

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
By "scrape" I assume you mean backup?

This applies to phpMyAdmin 2.5.3, the latest stable version.

After selecting the database in phpMyAdmin ("Database xxx running on yyy" should be displayed at the top of the right pane):

Select the Export tab at the top to get to the export page.

In the Export section, click Select All and check the SQL radio button.

In the SQL options section, check the Structure, Add 'drop table', Enclose table and field names with backquotes and Data checkboxes.

Check Save as file, and zipped or gzipped (whichever you prefer).

Then click the Go button.

To restore the database from the dump file, select the SQL tab at the top, then use the Browse button to load the dumped database.

[This message was edited by Dave_L on September 17, 2003 at 08:53 PM.]

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered