Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Originally Posted by driv
Yeah, I'm with you. Mine does the same - but the '0' box just doesn't reflect the number of tweets frown
Odd...I hit the "0" next to the Tweet box and it opened a window to Twitter but gave me a "no real time results" message...went back to the thread I had Tweeted, and it now displays "1"...did a refresh, and it went back to "0"...! tongue


www.yenko.net
UBB.Threads 7.5.5
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I just looked at mine and the Tweets are not showing, even though right after "Tweeting" it showed 1 on each post I Tweeted.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,235
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,235
Well, not meaning to be disrespectful of Rick's hard work but after a few days of trying this I've decided to disable it and go back to having my addthis.com buttons displayed in the post. At least this way I can keep track of its usage throughout the whole site.

Sorry Rick. blush

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Just checked my Twitter account and the Tweet is still showing, just not reflecting on my web page.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Likewise.
I'm sure this is just an oversight that may be quickly remedied.


Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Yup, that's what I'm thinking also.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Even if the counter doesn't work, it saves me a step or two, as I was doing the same thing manually before...so it's still a step forward!


www.yenko.net
UBB.Threads 7.5.5
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Looking into this now. I've seen a few bug reports with counts not incrementing with the new tweet api button.

If you can assist, please tweet this topic: https://www.ubbcentral.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/238823

Then post here if you do so we can get an idea of how many tweets there have been and do a bit of debugging. We've added a couple parameters they suggest such as the tweet-counturl, so we'll see if that has any effect.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
Just clicked it, first one

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Tweeted...


www.yenko.net
UBB.Threads 7.5.5
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Just something I noticed, and it may be correct, but when you hit the Tweet number it opens the following url:

twitter.com/#search?q=http%3A//www.ubbcentral.com/forums/ubbthreads.php%3Fubb%3Dshowflat%26Number%3D238823 OR http%3A//www.ubbcentral.com/forums/ubbthreads.php

The "OR" in the middle + the 2 url's look odd...and then you get "No real-time results for...[above url]?


www.yenko.net
UBB.Threads 7.5.5
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Ok, I know there is a cache they work with and there is no set time that it updates. So will be keeping an eye on it.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
So apparently, the api has some issues with items that can have multiple pages and different urls to each page, even when the url is forced to the main topic/post. Seems like that is why most that have this already only have it on the main forum page and not on individual topics.

Not sure if they will expand on this to allow for cases like forums, but I've inquired.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 173
member
Offline
member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 173
thanks boss....

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
tweeted -- dunno if i'm too late to the party laugh

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 678
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 678
Also tweeted. Pretty sure I'm late too.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Don't s'pose it matters when you tweet, as long as you do...
Just wondering if that cache is gonna update...?


Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by driv
The '0' box next to the Tweet button...


Until this is sorted, how can I remove the '0' box? smile


Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
About line 137 of templates/default/showflat.tpl you'll see the line for the tweet button:

Code

<a href="http://twitter.com/share?url={$facebookURL}&amp;via={$config.YOUR_TWITTER}" class="twitter-share-button" data-related="Mindraven">Tweet</a>


Change that to:

Code

<a href="http://twitter.com/share?url={$facebookURL}&amp;via={$config.YOUR_TWITTER}" class="twitter-share-button" data-related="Mindraven" data-count="none">Tweet</a>


Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Thanks matey smile


Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 869
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 869
Originally Posted by Gizmo
There is an RSS Content Creator over at UBBDev, I use it on UGN to syndicate news from CNN's Tech pages.



can you please provide a link to see this in action, it maybe what I am looking for.


Thanks


http://clubadventist.com/forums

No longer following the carrot
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,975
Likes: 40
UBB.threads Developer
Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,975
Likes: 40
Rick, us mods still can't edit this forum, and "Jon Milton" posted spam above...

Stan, check here


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 31
newbie
Offline
newbie
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 31
Is there any way to track how many times my topics have been liked or tweeted (other than visiting each individual topic?)

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I don't know if it's been reported, but the Facebook "Like" button seems to be broken. It's not working here or on my 2 sites...Hmmm. Tweet seems to still be working.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Facebook should be working now. They were tweaking their like button yesterday.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Cool.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Yup, just tried on my trucking site and worked like a charm. Love that feature.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
How do I change the "recommends you follow: Mindraven Hosting" in the twitter pop up box.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
You would have to make sure its ok with Rick that it can be removed but its in showflat.tpl

line 137 remove red

Quote
<a href="http://twitter.com/share?url={$facebookURL}&via={$config.YOUR_TWITTER}" class="twitter-share-button" data-related="Mindraven">Tweet</a>

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Originally Posted by canecutter
How do I change the "recommends you follow: Mindraven Hosting" in the twitter pop up box.


How about in "Control Panel/Display Options/Topic Display Options/Your Twitter Account". You just input your Twitter account name and it will then show up as being "Tweeted" from your forum.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
@ gliderdad that worked perfectly. I modified it to our twitter account. Maybe the option to recommend users to follow should be added in the next version.

@ GregK, the page I was referring to is the one that is after you tweet a page. It is in the pop-up window. Thanks

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Hmmm, I guess I've never had that popup or else never really looked at it?


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I just checked and nothing like that comes up on my site. Every reference is to Truckers Road, as it should be.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
In the latest update (7.5.6pl), which files are changed? In the install/UPGRADE_changes.txt are the same files noted as in version 7.5.6. Could you please give a list of updated files because I have a large number of files that are modded, and I don't want to edit/mod them all again.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
That's what I downloaded originally.

If you download the patch: ubbthreads-7-5-5p1 you will see the changed files. smile

Well, I'm assuming that's correct as it is the latest patch available.


Edit: I just noticed that the file dates in the 7-5-5p1 folder are dated 23 sept - so I guess it's the correct file to use.

Strike that - whatever files are downloaded - they get stamped with todays date - don't they?

Last edited by driv; 09/24/2011 11:37 AM. Reason: todays date

Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 869
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 869
hmmm I have hosting with mind raven, which included updates etc etc.. I can not access that patch now to make my forum more secure..


http://clubadventist.com/forums

No longer following the carrot
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Originally Posted by driv
That's what I downloaded originally.

If you download the patch: ubbthreads-7-5-5p1 you will see the changed files. smile

Well, I'm assuming that's correct as it is the latest patch available.


Edit: I just noticed that the file dates in the 7-5-5p1 folder are dated 23 sept - so I guess it's the correct file to use.

Shouldn't the patch be renamed to 7-5-6p1 ?


there is a ubbthreads-7-5-6p1 there in the list in the members area download -- the order on the right is kinda not ordered with most recent version on top..

so the patch is 4th down

maybe Brooks can reorder?

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,472
Likes: 3
Thanks for clearing that up smile


Using version :: 7.7.4
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by driv
That's what I downloaded originally.

If you download the patch: ubbthreads-7-5-5p1 you will see the changed files. smile

Well, I'm assuming that's correct as it is the latest patch available.


Edit: I just noticed that the file dates in the 7-5-5p1 folder are dated 23 sept - so I guess it's the correct file to use.

Strike that - whatever files are downloaded - they get stamped with todays date - don't they?


Thanks, I think I missed that last time smile tongue

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,214
Likes: 32
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,214
Likes: 32
Originally Posted by Stan
hmmm I have hosting with mind raven, which included updates etc etc.. I can not access that patch now to make my forum more secure..
Stan, I would open a ticket at mindraven and ask Rick what to do.
Also I would ask him about fixing your access at ubb member area.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Individual Post Count Adjustments?
by FREAK - 09/25/2020 11:17 PM
Like unlike bug?
by Morgan - 09/24/2020 5:03 PM
looking to renew :)
by Mors - 09/23/2020 7:52 PM
test
by Mors - 09/23/2020 7:51 PM
What triggers page view numbers
by Morgan - 09/21/2020 10:31 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Mors), 60 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5
(Snapshot build 20200925)