Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#242185 03/14/2011 12:22 AM
R
R Offline
I established a user group, put a guy in it. Went to two places to give permissions in that particular forum, group management and forum permissions.

He tries to use the permissions he sees and it says he has to be an admin. I took his word for it. I did "Become" him and I saw that what I wanted him to be be able to do - move posts to other topics when they became thread jacks, was there. In other words, move/merge is there.

It just doesn't work. What did I do wrong?

Larry

Last edited by razor_head; 03/14/2011 12:23 AM.
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
You could try having him log in and log back out; but if the permissions work when you become him he's likely pulling your chain to get permissions he doesn't need...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
R
R Offline

No, the permission boxes were there, they just didn't work. And he did log out and log back in. I made him a mod and all is good. We are talking about the Therapist who posts on our board, so we are not talking about a poser Gizmo. I would make the guy an admin if he would take it - but he won't.

What happens is that people ask him questions on the wrong thread and he wants to move them where they need to be and answer them.

I probably did something wrong.

Larry

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Why not just make him a global mod? Basically they're mods of every forum who you can delegate admin functions to...