Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#251833 12/29/2012 8:36 PM
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Why is it that you must have a current subscription to get a security update? Don't most companies provide free security updates to programs when they find a flaw?

-Tim
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, it's more than a security release, there are feature enhancements and bug fixes in 7.5.7.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Then why not provide just the security update as a free stand alone patch?

-Tim
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Originally Posted by Cuervo
Then why not provide just the security update as a free stand alone patch?
You'd have to ask the powers that be (the owner); speaking from experience with past releases (even through old companies) all releases are always done through the member area.

If a security patch is released and it is JUST that patch then I believe under Groupee they'd supply it via the support system; however that's IF a patch was made JUST to a specific version (such as the previous full release); if one was not created just for that then it'd be packaged with a minor release (such as what we just had) and be kept to the member area.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic