Print Thread
Hop To
#255540 05/12/2014 5:48 AM
P
stranger
stranger
P Offline
Hello,

UBB Forum seems very similar to SMF (including portal) it even made me wonder are they somehow related?

I wonder if anyone ever used SMF, if so what are your opinions about it? Personally I see some similarities in features and general layout (but its a forum, so this cannot be avoided). I have no idea about admin backend, so I cannot say.

Does UBB supports some kind of plugins/extensions?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, all forum software have the same baseline features; the UBB is far older however.

I've used SMF, it's about the only freeware forum that I'd give a chance at.

The UBB doesn't have a plugin or extension system; but there are modifications at UBBDev.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
addict
addict
All I can say is when I last tried SMF, within a couple of weeks I got hacked to pieces and have never had that happen with Ubb.

Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Originally Posted by GregK
All I can say is when I last tried SMF, within a couple of weeks I got hacked to pieces and have never had that happen with Ubb.
Happens with all of the freeware; I mean comeon, it's free, everyone has it, everyone analyzes it...

Paid software comes off more "secure" because it's generally released on a schedule and patched appropriately; just not here very much anymore (anyone remember the days that we had an update once a month?)