Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Addict
Addict
Do we have any updates that we can use to stop spam-bots on our forums? Seems like the captcha system I've been running for the last few years isn't enough.

Any chance the next (even minor) update of Threads will address this issue? Even if it's just an additional text field when registering that asks a simple question to be answered.

SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
you have 5 text fields that you can add already. just go to registration settings and add one that is 'required' and it forces that to be filled in

smile

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Enable Stop Forum Spam in the CP then install the addon at UBBDev "Stop Forum Spam: Login Detection"; should be enough for 99% of you.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Addict
Addict
Gizmo, that feature has been of great help. Just need to add a small extra measure to keep out the few that slip through.

SD, if I add an additional 'required field' can I specify that the registration will go through only if a specific answer is entered?

Enthusiast
Enthusiast
I added some required fields, and the spam bots just plugged in an alpha sequence and got past.

It would be helpful if a question/answer pair were an option. Users would see a question requiring a simple answer, examples:
Enter the sum of 5 and 10:
Country north of the United States:
Add an s to the word spammer:

Originally Posted by Steve C
I added some required fields, and the spam bots just plugged in an alpha sequence and got past.