Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#260483 09/17/2017 10:56 PM
L
L Offline
I have just created some polls. I have set the poll results to only be shown after the poll is voted on.

As the admin I can vote and I see the results. As an anonymous user I can vote, but can not see the results. The page refreshes back to showing radio button to vote when it should show the results. As an admin I can see that the anonymous user's vote was added to the total. As a registered user I can vote and see the results. So..............

Is there a setting I missed, or is it a bug that poll results can't be seen by a "guest", or is that how polls are supposed to work?

Thank you in advance for help on this issue

Larry Miller #260484 09/18/2017 2:29 AM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Honestly, it may be considered a bug that a guest is allowed to vote at all. Unless the IP Address is logged (which isn't always static), I don't believe that there is a way to track a guest user to even know that they voted, since they are not a registered member, there is no UserID to attribute a vote to.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #260485 09/18/2017 7:03 AM
L
L Offline
Interesting answer...Thank you. I get what you're saying.

Larry Miller #260486 09/18/2017 12:30 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Once a VOTE is made, the IP address (and a UID) gets logged, and their cookie is updated. GUESTS and MEMBERS cannot vote twice.
** Members cannot get new IP numbers to vote with because their UID has been stored, and their cookie was updated.