Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I am having major load problems with UBBThreads running a dedicated server (PIII Duel 800, 1 gig RAM) am I missing something? We had to turn off error checking and put a restart mysql every 30 min in a cron job just to get down from a load of 180 or so, I also do not allow file uploads. My host wants me to get rid of UBBThreads and go with someone else, what can I do to resolve this? Also, anyone else having this problem? I receive around 100,000 page views per day if that helps. I am running the current version also.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
So you are running 5.5.1 - Is this an NT/Win2k machine or a Linux/Unix machine? Apache or IIS? How is PhP running - is it running as an executeable or as part of the web server?

Is this the Perl latest or the PhP latest version?

What version of MySQL is running? Do you have Persistent connections turned on or off? Are you using cookies or sessions?

If you can give us a bit more background I suspect that we can help you.

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I've been banging my head against a wall for the last two weeks while we've tried to endure and correct a bunch of load problems on our server here as well.

We have a fairly active board. I'm not sure how I could tell you the page views per day (I'd love to know), but I did a sum on b_counter in w3t_posts (based on the assumption it started counting just in the two weeks the board has been up) and it was over 5.2 million. We upgraded from UBB 6 using the import script (worked awesome, by the way, thank you!) so if the counter is kept there, then the above number probably won't mean much. For what it's worth, we have 9000 users (plus another 10k lurkers), 155,000 posts.

The board is installed on a 1.2Ghz Pentium system with 768Mb RAM, an 80 Gig RAID 5 array (we needed it with UBB!) using Win2k, IIS, PHP 4.1.1, MySQL 3.23.47.

Right now there's only a 120 people online and it's dog-slow!

The server is pegged at 100% for all but about 8 seconds a day. I was running it on the CGI version of PHP, but just switched it ISAPI a few seconds ago to see if that would help. The traffic seems to be better, but I've received "PHP has encountered an Access Violation at 77FCBAAC" errors at least four times since making that switch. (And yes, I saw the big disclaimer about using the ISAPI version!)

After a ton of connection problems, we seem to have settled on using sessions and persistent connections.

If most of these things are fixed in 6.0, I'd be happy to beta test!

Thanks in advance, gang. The message board is for scrapbookers http://mb.twopeasinabucket.com and there's nothing worse than 30,000 angry women yelling about taking away their chatterbox site!

Let me know if you need any further information.

Jeffrey

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Quick Update: Just had to go back to php.exe instead of ISAPI since it just completely died!

The good news is that it's the first time I've seen the server at 0% for a month. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Sorry, I just want to paint an accurate picture.

I noticed that our MySQL implementation was using VERY little memory. After doing a little research (First-time user of MySQL or PHP), I determined that I could give it more breathing room by increasing the following settings for MySQL:

key_buffer=500M
table_cache=256
sort_buffer=50M
record_buffer=1M

This seemed to make an improvement, but we're still pegging the server.

Thanks!

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Brett Harris:
So you are running 5.5.1 - Is this an NT/Win2k machine or a Linux/Unix machine? Apache or IIS? How is PhP running - is it running as an executeable or as part of the web server?

Is this the Perl latest or the PhP latest version?

What version of MySQL is running? Do you have Persistent connections turned on or off? Are you using cookies or sessions?

If you can give us a bit more background I suspect that we can help you.

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Here are the anwsers I hope:
UBBThreads 5.5.1 PHP
Linux machine
Apache v1.3.19
PHP is running as a DSO module (part of the webserver)
Mysql v3.23.46
Persistent connections turned on
using cookies

Any help would be great.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Let me add my name to this list as well. I'm having similar problems. Most of the suggestions I've seen on this issue revolve around tweaking the MySQL installation or configuration settings, messing around with Apache, etc.

Unfortunately, not all of us have that type of technical knowledge. I'm learning, but without some pretty detailed instructions, I'm at a loss.

Especially when the only things I've seen to date have been:

"Check your MySQL installation..."

How do I do that, and more specifically, where on the server am I looking, what file am I editing, etc.

One thing I'd suggest for the Infopop personnel that respond to these threads, be descriptive in your answers. Don't be vague. When you're vague it only adds to the confusion and frustration many of us feel. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Confused]" src="images/icons/confused.gif" />

The Terran BBS

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Jeffrey:

Suggestion for you - you will need licenses for each of the web servers in this config, but here goes:

Three servers here. Two for running the PHP scripts, one for the database server. Unfortunately MySQL's replication(master/slave) scheme doesn't make for the greatest load reduction so we'll stick with one MySQL host machine.

Again I'll recommend RedHat Linux 7.2, latest Kernel RPMS, Apache, PHP 4.1.1 and MySQL. MySQL installed from RPM and PHP compiled as a DSO. Be sure to have zlib installed on the two web servers and configure php --with-zlib when building it. Again, be sure page compression is ON in the php.ini ir it doesn't help.

For the two PHP script servers you'll not need the largest or fastest disk setups available. You'll need a pretty fair amount of memory so that MySQL queries can be safely returned, sorted or processed. Obviously faster cpus will do the sorting or processing faster. If you'll have the uploads capability turned on you'l want to use an NFS share on the upload directory so that regardless of which set of scripts on which server a person connects to the uploads go to the same directory and can be downloaded the same way. Sharing the stylesheets and image directories will make maintanance easier as well. This shouldn't be a problem since the O/S caches those. Keep that native O/S caching in mind when considering how much RAM to include also. Linux is vigorous in using all the RAM you'll give it for caching. Caching makes things faster for the end user.

The MySQL server: This is the workhorse of the setup here. The faster the discs the faster MySQL reads and writes, the shorter the time span that tables are locked and the smaller the chance of corruption. The more memory you give it the more it can cache. MySQL loves memory. Lots of memory. More then lots. I think you get my point. Use the RPMs so you can keep it up to date with no problems and you'll be more apt to do so.

Then give it more memory.

For each setup don't forget to write some realy good scripts to do mysql dumps then run them from cron. We use perl scripts (our PHP is DSO, cannot run from command line) to do mysqldump on the databases and ftp them to another server for safe keeping. Twice a day for good measure. We've never had table corruption but the first time I shut off those cron scripts I know it will happen.

Colorado:

What are your specs on page views, etc.. What else is running on that machine?

Wraith:

Same questions to you.

I have asked Rick to have a look over this with us.

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hopefully threadsdev.com will be back up soon. We have a dedicated mysql forum there where users have posted alot of tips on tweaking mysql, adjusting the mysql.cnf file, etc. This is an area that I'm not extremely experienced in but Brett does offer some very good tips.

I believe by default mysql.cnf file is setup for a medium sized site. On most installs of mysql they also have sample config files for large or huge sites which will adjust the mysql settings accordingly.

-------------------
Rick Baker
UBBThreads developer

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Not sure what happened with that last post.
I get around 100,000 page views per day with mostly .shtml pages on my site - http://coloradok5.com
I do have a cgi ad banner rotation adcycle.com

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Also my host is thinking of trying mod_perl have no idea what thats about, just know that I have to get this figured out soon.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Create a php file with <? phpinfo ?> in it and post a link to it. Then open my.cnf, on Redhat found in /etc, and post it here.
Don't use RPMs to upgrade, compile from source. There are too many dependencies to solve when you use RPMs. Not only that but you have depend on the RPM builder to compile it with the correct paths.

[b]Extreme VB Forums -[/b] Visual Basic Help

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Extrm Bob:
Create a php file with <? phpinfo ?> in it and post a link to it. Then open my.cnf, on Redhat found in /etc, and post it here.
Don't use RPMs to upgrade, compile from source. There are too many dependencies to solve when you use RPMs. Not only that but you have depend on the RPM builder to compile it with the correct paths.

]http://www.visualbasicforum.com<... size="" face="">

Umm, what is an RPM? <img border="0" title="" alt="[Embarrassed]" src="images/icons/blush.gif" />

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
coloradok5:
Did you try to disable the full new post tracking feature? (Config Settings -> Special functions / Do you want to do full new post tracking (standard behavior)? -> No)

For the my.cnf file I suggest something like:

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">[mysqld]
port = 3306
socket = /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock
skip-locking
set-variable = max_connections=400
set-variable = key_buffer=20M
set-variable = join_buffer=7M
set-variable = record_buffer=7M
set-variable = sort_buffer=10M
set-variable = table_cache=1024
set-variable = thread_cache_size=256

[myisamchk]
set-variable = key_buffer=512M
set-variable = sort_buffer=512M
set-variable = read_buffer=16M
set-variable = write_buffer=16M </font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Extrm Bob:
Create a php file with <? phpinfo ?> in it and post a link to it. Then open my.cnf, on Redhat found in /etc, and post it here.</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Okay, I did as you said with the <? phpinfo ?> and it doesn't produce anything. Here's the link if you'd like to take a look: http://www.terranbbs.com/phpinfo.php

As to the my.cnf file, I can't locate it. It's not in the /etc directory. Is this a file created by default or is it something I need to create?

The Terran BBS

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Okay, I did as you said with the <? phpinfo ?> and it doesn't produce anything. </font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">It's <? phpinfo(); ?> and not <? phpinfo ?>

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">As to the my.cnf file, I can't locate it. It's not in the /etc directory. Is this a file created by default or is it something I need to create?</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">You need to create the file, then restart MySQL with /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql stop & /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Philipp:
It's <? phpinfo(); ?> and not <? phpinfo ?></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Okay, I did that and it's working now. Here's the link: http://www.terranbbs.com/phpinfo.php

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Philipp:
You need to create the file, then restart MySQL with /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql stop & /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Okay, I've created the my.cnf file using what you wrote above, modifying the socket variable to correspond to what phpinfo reported. I uploaded it to my /etc directory; however, when I attempt to execute the stop and restart command you have listed above, I get a bash error saying that there isn't such a file (i.e. mysql). I checked out the /etc/rc.d/init.d directory and there isn't a mysql file there. I'll work with my hosting company to figure out how to stop and restart mysql, unless you have any idea where I might be able to find it.

The Terran BBS

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hi everyone,
I'm coloradok5's host, and we've been working together to sort out his server's problems. I thought I'd interject with his server's configurations and some statistics from his database. Any additional questions, please feel free to shoot, and I'll do the best I can.

Here's some relevant settings on his mysql server:

set-variable = max_connections=1500
set-variable = table_cache=2038
set-variable = thread_cache_size=50

set-variable = key_buffer=256M
set-variable = join_buffer=1M
set-variable = record_buffer=1M
set-variable = sort_buffer=1M

A good rule of thumb for mysql settings over the years: It's the key_buffer: 1/3rd total system memory for a dedicated mysql server (a server that does nothing but mysql), 1/4th or less total system memory for a multipurpose server.

Following Jeffrey White's lead, from w3t_Posts:
Total Number of Posts: 336153
Unknown number of "lurkers" (how do you find that?)
sum(B_Counter) = 54114724
max(B_Counter) = 7599

Also, it looks like we've got 4567 Users.

Basically, the problem is that at 7pm - 9pm or so, the system starts getting too busy and starts swapping.

Any help or advice that you guys could give would be great.

jason

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Have the tables been optimized recently? It's a good idea once in awhile to close the forums and then optimize the tables in the admin area, then reopen (optimizing with the forums open can sometimes cause db corruption). This might help somewhat.

-------------------
Rick Baker
UBBThreads developer

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Rick Baker:
Have the tables been optimized recently? It's a good idea once in awhile to close the forums and then optimize the tables in the admin area, then reopen (optimizing with the forums open can sometimes cause db corruption). This might help somewhat.

-------------------
Rick Baker
UBBThreads developer</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">OK, I just optimized the tables, the last time I did it the forums were open.
<img border="0" title="" alt="[Embarrassed]" src="images/icons/blush.gif" />

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Does UBBThreads' "optimize" just perform mysql's "OPTIMIZE TABLE ..." command, or does it do more than that?

thx!

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
It just does a basic optimize on a couple of the tables.

-------------------
Rick Baker
UBBThreads developer

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">I'll work with my hosting company to figure out how to stop and restart mysql, unless you have any idea where I might be able to find it.</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">/etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql should work <img border="0" title="" alt="[Confused]" src="images/icons/confused.gif" /> . Which Linux (Red Hat, SuSE etc.) is installed on the server?

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">set-variable = max_connections=1500
set-variable = table_cache=2038
set-variable = thread_cache_size=50

set-variable = key_buffer=256M
set-variable = join_buffer=1M
set-variable = record_buffer=1M
set-variable = sort_buffer=1M</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">key_buffer=256M is way to high and join/record/sort_buffer=1 is to low for a 1GB server.

You should try the configuration that I posted before:

[mysqld]
port = 3306
socket = /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock
skip-locking
set-variable = max_connections=400
set-variable = key_buffer=20M
set-variable = join_buffer=7M
set-variable = record_buffer=7M
set-variable = sort_buffer=10M
set-variable = table_cache=1024
set-variable = thread_cache_size=256

[myisamchk]
set-variable = key_buffer=512M
set-variable = sort_buffer=512M
set-variable = read_buffer=16M
set-variable = write_buffer=16M

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Philipp:

/etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql should work <img border="0" title="" alt="[Confused]" src="images/icons/confused.gif" /> . Which Linux (Red Hat, SuSE etc.) is installed on the server?</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Red Hat Linux 5.2 (Custom) and Apache 1.3.x web server

Yeah, I know it's old, I'm trying to get my stupid hosting company to upgrade it. So far they're ignoring my emails. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Mad]" src="images/icons/mad.gif" />

You can read all about the server specs here. It's the Dedicated Server 0 package.

The Terran BBS

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hi Brett and all:

I just wanted to let you know about some changes that I made on Friday that really seemed to do it.

1. Based on responses here and looking at our own system and users, etc. We made the following changes in my.cnf:

[mysqld]
port = 3306
skip-locking
set-variable = max_connections=1500
set-variable = key_buffer=500M
set-variable = join_buffer=15M
set-variable = record_buffer=7M
set-variable = sort_buffer=15M
set-variable = table_cache=2038
set-variable = thread_cache_size=256

[myisamchk]
set-variable = key_buffer=256M
set-variable = sort_buffer=256M
set-variable = read_buffer=16M
set-variable = write_buffer=16M

2. We also turned off the full new post tracking (which, if I had ready the text next to that setting I may have thought to change that earlier).

3. We removed that check referer line which was preventing a LOT of people from posting.

After doing that, the server is running EXCEPTIONALLY faster. With more users than ever before it's only maxing out at about 80% and even then it's only for a heartbeat.

Thanks to everyone here who posted helpful suggestions and thanks to Brett for doing our strategic growth analysis!! <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Jeffrey

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Huge shouts out to Dave who wrote that 3 server spec. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Big Grin]" src="images/icons/grin.gif" />

Are you running with the 3 machine config?

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
No, that's the funny part. We achieved a very acceptable performance level just with the one machine. We're going to move towards the three machine model before the end of the year though. (Stepping to a 2-machine model first). The trick will be whether we use a round-robin approach or come up with some other type of load-balancing approach.

Thanks again.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hi there,

At what page view level should I expect a load problem on a PIII 512K IDE machine?

Thanks.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
That's going to vary directly with the number of concurrent users and how the OS/Database are configured.

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
IMG Options
by mmem700 - 06/12/2021 10:14 AM
Custom Island database updates
by Pak Chan - 06/09/2021 2:11 PM
PHP 8 support + which php engine is used in IIS?
by luket - 06/08/2021 7:05 AM
7.7.5 Update error
by ECNet - 05/30/2021 8:08 PM
Re: Custom Island Questions
by ECNet - 05/30/2021 5:00 PM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Ruben), 61 guests, and 97 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5