Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Okay, think it's understood now that the install of my UBB Threads 6.2.3 got screwed up after it was run (installed) a couple to a few times to get it working. We didn't know that this would cause as many issues as it's proven until we had already gone "live".

Now, another issues has popped up....there's approximately 20 groups listed...and looking at them, they are just repeating themselves:

Administrators
Moderators
Users
Guests

They repeat themselves over and over again...

How can I quickly repair this?

Thank you,
Mark
www.f-bodyhideout.com

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I took a look.. you don't have any real users yet... so you can safely do this SQL Query:

DELETE FROM w3t_Groups
WHERE G_Id > '5'

That should do it. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Thanks...the code you gave me ran, but it left one duplicate.

It goes in this order from top to bottom:

Administrators
Moderators
Users
Guests
Administrators

The Admin at the bottom is obviously the dup. How can I rid of the Admin dup? Also, is it okay to leave them in the order they appear?

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Ah... I should have said "Greater than or equal to".

This will do it:

DELETE FROM w3t_Groups
WHERE G_Id > '4'

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Josh, good to go...fixed the duplicates.

Now I have another issue....ah, does it ever end?

I have attempted time after time to create more forums. I have gone through and named one and provided the necessary information in the Admin Control. The forum I am attempting to create is titled Moderator's Lounge. A place obviously just for myself and my Moderators. So, I assigned only Administrators and Moderators access to this forum.

Now here comes the problem....after I input all the info to set up the new forum I get a message that reads my new forum is set up and ready to use. Okay, so I go in and browse to find my new forum...nope not there. I've done this over and over again....

So, I go in and think well maybe my groups are messed up...I go in and look, nope, there are the four listed. Admin, Mod, Users, Guest.

So then I think hmmm, maybe my group setting is not right. I go into my profile and select "Edit Groups" I only see one selectable box for me to check and it's checked. I only see Users and that is the one that is checked for me.

Why aren't my other Groups displaying?

I am sure that this is why I cannot see any new forums that I'm creating for only Mods and Admins.

If this site allows images...then you will see what I'm talking about here:

<img src="http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/misc/groups.jpg" alt=" - " />

Also, when I look at my Group Management...I click on Edit Group and when I do....I don't see any Groups listed. When I hit the scroll down button, there's nothing there. Doh!

<img src="http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/misc/groups2.jpg" alt=" - " />

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Mark

[This message was edited by SmoknZ28 on May 01, 2003 at 11:40 AM.]

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Smokn try the lounge again without the ' in it. I have a suspicion that the ' in the name is not being escaped properly.

<img src="http://navaho.infopop.cc/golf.gif" alt=" - " />

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by David Dreezer:
Smokn try the lounge again without the ' in it. I have a suspicion that the ' in the name is not being escaped properly.</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">I'm sorry, I'm not understanding what you typed. Can you elaborate?

Oh and sorry...I changed my screen name. Don't mean to confuse anyone.

Thanks David,
Mark

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
He's saying try the name without the apostrophe. It might not like the apostrophe... which might be a bug. But let's try it and see.

Use only letters for now. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by JoshPet:
He's saying try the name without the apostrophe. It might not like the apostrophe... which might be a bug. But let's try it and see.

Use only letters for now. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Josh
</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">Nope, taking the apostrophe out didn't do it. I used the name of Moderator Lounge...no go. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Frown]" src="images/icons/frown.gif" />

Also, what gives on my list of Groups where I don't see any? I posted an image to show you guys what I mean.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Under Admin -> What do you get when you type this SQL Query:

SLECT *
FROM w3t_Groups

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Here are the results of your command: "SLECT * FROM w3t_Groups".

SQL ERROR: Thu, May 01 2003 19:23:30 -0400 Unable to do_query: SLECT * FROM w3t_Groups
You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'SLECT * FROM w3t_Groups' at line 1 row(s) affected by your query.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Sorry... I mistyped "select"

SELECT *
FROM w3t_Groups

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Yea Josh, I learned it's easier to type when I put down the bottle of Corona. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Okay, here's what the return was:

Results from your SQL command

Here are the results of your command: "SELECT * FROM w3t_Groups".

G_Name G_Id
Administrators 1
Moderators 2
Users 3
Guests 4


Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
This may not be relevant but are you logged into the Ubber Admins account right now while you are shooting those screenshots?

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Per the groups thing... all is fine.

You haven't added any custom groups.... and those groups listed are the standards ones and can not be renamed.

When you add users to groups - the only group (of those 4) that you can add them to, is "Users".

Guests is for unregistered users, and Admins / Mods are assigned differently (by assigning moderators and granting admin privs.)

Your issue from the begining is that someone kept running createtable on you which was putting duplicate things in the DB, so I suspected yoru groups might have been wacky.

When you try to create the board, what are you entering as the board "keyword"? That should be a word with no spaces and just letters.

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by Brett Harris:
This may not be relevant but are you logged into the Ubber Admins account right now while you are shooting those screenshots?

Regards,

Brett Harris
Infopop Corporation</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">I'm logged in as the Admin when I shot the screen shots. I'm the only Admin on the board as well.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="">quote:</font><hr /><font size="" face="">Originally posted by JoshPet:
Per the groups thing... all is fine.

You haven't added any custom groups.... and those groups listed are the standards ones and can not be renamed.

When you add users to groups - the only group (of those 4) that you can add them to, is "Users".

Guests is for unregistered users, and Admins / Mods are assigned differently (by assigning moderators and granting admin privs.)

Your issue from the begining is that someone kept running createtable on you which was putting duplicate things in the DB, so I suspected yoru groups might have been wacky.

When you try to create the board, what are you entering as the board "keyword"? That should be a word with no spaces and just letters.

Josh</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="" face="">The keyword I was using was always one word and with no other characters other than alphabetical.

Josh, here's another note to mention. The Forum does get created as I'm only able to see it when I click on "Edit or delete a forum". It will show up in my list of Forums, but I cannot see it when I click on "Main Index". It won't show up after I leave the Admin menu.

How can I fix the issues with my list of Groups as well?

Thank you all for helping on this.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Oh so it is showing up under admin?

This might be part of a bug where the forums sometimes disappeared from the main index. This is fixed for 6.3.

Try making a post, to get the forum to appear.

Go to

http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/ubbthreads/newpost.php?Board=xxxxxxx

Above where I have xxxxx put the keyword of the board you created.

See if it appears when you make a post to the board. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Smile]" src="images/icons/smile.gif" />

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Josh, thanks for your patience with me on this one...

Here's what I'm seeing when I do what you asked:

We cannot proceed.

You have read only privileges for this forum.

Please use your back button to return to the previous page.


I'm sure this has to do with my Groups being screwed up. See above graphic and questions in regards to this.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
No your groups look perfect. Nothing wrong with the groups. You just never added any, so there's none to edit.

When you setup the forum, you need to make sure (towards the bottom of that screen) that all groups have "read and write acces". That error message means that the forum is there, but you don't have the privledges setup right.

There's a section at the bottom when you edit the forums to determine who can see the forum, read it and post to it.

I'd double check that. My guess is that you've got the Administrator group set to no access.... so you won't see it on the main index.

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Josh, I have that set up. Everytime I set this up I set that section up with Administrators and Moderators to have access to it. The other two Groups do not have access to it. That's the way I want it and have set it up like that every time.

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I'd say it's time for a support ticket.

--
Cyber-Cards.com: Free E-cards for all occasions.
UBBDesign.com: Custom web development & UBB â„¢ customization.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Yeah,

I agree with JC. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

You probably need infopop to take a look. You had some wackiness because the installer or createtable got run a ton of times and may have corrupted more than we have guessed thus far.


Open a support ticket with all your info and then maybe they can see what's going wrong. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Smile]" src="images/icons/smile.gif" />

Sounds like you are doing everything right.

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Thanks guys for the help thus far....

Now, I'm on my way in search for where to input the info for a Trouble Ticket and can't find it. Driving me nutts. Man, my day has not gone well....

Anyone got the link?

Thank you

Gonzo
F-Body Hideout
Message Board

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Here you go. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
*For what it's worth and use at your own peril..

I just went in with PHPmyadmin and removed the extra ones. Not sure how safe it was but no problems have arisen that I can see.

--
Cyber-Cards.com: Free E-cards for all occasions.
UBBDesign.com: Custom web development & UBB â„¢ customization.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Yeah, we got rid of his extra ones early on. His current issue is that he's unable to add a forum.

Word to all..... when you install, remove the install and createtable script from your server. It goofs up lots of things if that gets run repeatedly by someone. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="images/icons/wink.gif" />

Josh
www.joshuapettit.com
ThreadsDev.com Administrator | InfoPop Community Moderator
Register to see my How To/Site Help Library Forum at ThreadsDev.com.
My threads 'tweaking' abilities are for hire for upgrades, tweaks and modifications.


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
spam issues
by ECNet - 03/19/2024 11:45 PM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Nightcrawler), 963 guests, and 210 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)