UBBCentral

customizable islands

Posted By: sundance

customizable islands - 02/11/15 08:19 PM

I had these working in many of the forums and went to make a change on one and got an error. Now none of the Option to display these islands in between posts is working.

They only work on columns and not between post????

Please any advice would b great!

Thx Mike
Posted By: Gizmo

Re: customizable islands - 02/11/15 08:22 PM

What is the full content of the island you are having problems with?
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/11/15 09:16 PM

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
Panasonic Search
<div style="width:637px; height:25px">
<form action="http://www.usedphones.com/catalogsearch/result/?" method="get" target="_blank">
<input type="text" name="q">
<input type="submit" value="Submit Search">
</form>
</div>
EOF;

this code works, but not in between post it does not?
Posted By: Ruben

Re: customizable islands - 02/11/15 09:37 PM

Well the syntax looks correct.
Although the width is extremely large for a side island.
Not knowing what forum you used it in.
Can you provide a url link to the forum it should appear in?
Does a ad show at all?
Did you select the island in custom inserts for the forum?
Did you enable viewing ads in the forum permissions also?

FYI,
I do see a google search ad island in most of the forums.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 12:29 AM

http://sundance-communications.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/forums/5/1/Avaya_-_Lucent

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
Avaya Nortel Search
<div style="width:637px; height:25px">
<form action="http://www.usedphones.com/catalogsearch/result/?" method="get" target="_blank">
<input type="text" name="q">
<input type="submit" value="Submit Search">
</form>
</div>
EOF;
Posted By: Gizmo

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 07:10 AM

Does there happen to be any data after "EOF;" (spaces, lines, anything)?
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 06:04 PM

I will check them all, as I think if one does it breaks the whole chain of all customs right?
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 06:16 PM

Tip
Custom islands start from the lowest number first or top down.
Disable them may be a easier way to find the source of the problem.

Even turn them all off and see if the problem exists.

And when checking the code in the custom islands scroll down sometimes there is a line off screen and you dont see the scroll bars for looking.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 06:20 PM

Dumb question but how do you disable them?
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 06:36 PM

I checked all 30 to see if there was any space/code after the last line and there was not.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:05 PM

Sorry i was thinking about the main portal settings, but you have them in various places.

Ok
Open a text document, copy and paste.

Save the changes to the custom island.

ctrl+f5 on you forum to see if you get the error.

No error put it back and move on to the next one.

Its a needle in a hay stack but its the only way your going to get to the answer.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:09 PM

Originally Posted by sundance
I had these working in many of the forums and went to make a change on one and got an error. Now none of the Option to display these islands in between posts is working.

They only work on columns and not between post????

Please any advice would b great!

Thx Mike


If you only made the change on one of the islands then you can start with that code.

I have islands between posts and mine are working fine 7.5.8

Ive just visited this forum Click me and i can see and advert on the left side. Rotating images.

Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:11 PM

If you can not see it when logged in then its a permissions thing with the forum settings via the control pannel.
I'm not registered but i can see that advert.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:32 PM

Yesterday no Permissions Checks problems but today I have cache_builders/custom (FAIL)
Posted By: Gizmo

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:39 PM

If there is additional data after the eof; it can break the island; it shouldn't break them all though.

Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:40 PM

I guess now that I have this new problem I should fix it first but don't know what exactly to do other that to reboot the server?????
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:41 PM

Yes it is breaking them all, I have messed with a couple of them now so I am not sure which one is going nuts.

Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:43 PM

If I put the the custom in a Portal Layout they all seem to work just fine in that config
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:44 PM

cache (OK)
cache_builders/custom (FAIL)
portal_box_42.php FAIL
portal_box_45.php FAIL
portal_box_43.php FAIL
portal_box_39.php FAIL
Directory Check OK
portal_box_44.php FAIL
portal_box_52.php FAIL
portal_box_40.php FAIL
portal_box_54.php FAIL
portal_box_4.php FAIL
portal_box_6.php FAIL
portal_box_46.php FAIL
portal_box_47.php FAIL
portal_box_48.php FAIL
portal_box_10.php FAIL
portal_box_50.php FAIL
portal_box_3.php FAIL
portal_box_2.php FAIL
portal_box_9.php FAIL
portal_box_51.php FAIL
portal_box_7.php FAIL
portal_box_53.php FAIL
index.html OK
portal_box_57.php FAIL
portal_box_55.php FAIL
portal_box_49.php FAIL
portal_box_.php FAIL
portal_box_41.php FAIL
portal_box_56.php FAIL
portal_box_8.php FAIL
portal_box_5.php FAIL
portal_box_1.php FAIL
portal_box_58.php FAIL
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:54 PM

Use a different browser to check your permissions, i dont know why but chrome has been playing up.
I can use IE and get a clean slate.

Permissions i meant Control pannel

Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.

Unless you give us as link to a section we can see with the blank we cant help as i can see your advert or am i missing something.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 08:59 PM

ok I will get right back to you

in the mean while here is code that is working in the Portal

<?php
/* PHP CODE HERE */

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
<div style="width:300px; height:25px">
<form action="http://www.usedphones.com/catalogsearch/result/?" method="get" target="_blank">
<input type="text" name="q">
<input type="submit" value="Submit">
</form>
</div>
EOF;
?>
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:00 PM

cache_builders/custom (FAIL)

in FireFox as well
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:02 PM

same fail in IE
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:03 PM

if I reboot the server will if fix the fail?
Posted By: Gizmo

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:03 PM

It'll fail in every browser, it's checking the permissions on the webserver for that folder; it's saying that the folder isn't chmodded 777.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:04 PM

Default Custom island code

PHP Code
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Body of the custom box here

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */ 


Notice NO php tags
<?php php?>

Yours above has when it works and does not when its broken.

I dont have php tags in my custom islands.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:07 PM

When I reboot will it reload the files and clear the fail?
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:07 PM

Originally Posted by Gizmo
It'll fail in every browser, it's checking the permissions on the webserver for that folder; it's saying that the folder isn't chmodded 777.


Sorry G i get mixed results. it even hangs the page in chrome waits about 10 seconds and then gives me the rest of the results.
IE displays instantly, and green.

Not pinned down the cause and put it down to chrome version. Its possible.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:09 PM

Originally Posted by sundance
When I reboot will it reload the files and clear the fail?


I would ftp in and check the file permissions on a few files first.
Change 1 and check permissions again.

No need to reboot just yet.
As you may find the cause also.


After Thought.
Check the change log in the control panel just to make sure someone has not change the View Ads permissions with out your knowledge.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:17 PM

I checked this one that has a fail,
UBB\custom2\portal_box_42.php

and the perm is set to
Allow Full control
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:21 PM

I checked on ftp and see
Owners checked for read and write but not execute
Group read only
Public Read only
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:24 PM

maybe I am over thinking this,

<?php
/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
<!--Begin ClixTrac.com Banner Code -->
<a href="http://www.clixtrac.com/banner/click.php?banner=177648" target="_blank">
<img src="http://www.clixtrac.com/banner/177648.gif" alt="Cell Phone Repair" title="Cell Phone Repair" border="0" /></a>
<!--End ClixTrac.com Banner Code -->
EOF;
?>

is this the problem ?>
having this after the EOF;
or this at the top <?php
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:31 PM

When I open the file in notepad I do not get that code only in dreamweaver sry.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:33 PM

remove the tags in custom island box after you paste it in.

Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:34 PM

you are correct I just tried for the first time today to copy the default code into the udd control and I got this,
cache_builders/custom/portal_box_41 is not writeable. You will either need to change the permissions on this file or edit it by hand.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:37 PM

I fixed the permission on 41
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:38 PM

I guess all need to be checked
read
write
execute
for
owner, group and public
Posted By: Gizmo

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:41 PM

According to the install docs, all folders need to be chmodded 777, all files 666.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:41 PM

Not quite clear how or where your changing your permissions.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:45 PM

I changed them on FTP
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:47 PM

I will now need to go back according to this,
folders need to be chmodded 777, all files 666.
I did not change the custom folder but did all of the portal_box_php files to 777

re ran the permission check and all is fine now,

but if the php files are to be at 666 i will need to go back and redo them.

Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:48 PM

So permissions were changed on the server at some point.

Looks like you have it sorted now.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:53 PM

Yes they were, and this is how,
I moved the files with FTP to my pc and then reloaded them back on the server. the transfer must have auto changed them.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:54 PM

Now I am back to my original problem of I cant remember how to make these show after the first or 2nd post.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:55 PM

onoes onoes onoes onoes
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 09:57 PM

Control panel
Originally Posted by Mark S


Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.

Unless you give us as link to a section we can see with the blank we cant help as i can see your advert or am i missing something.


As Admin its always is iffy I dont know why.
So log in as a user when testing or log out if you can see the forum you need.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:00 PM

Forum Settings : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.

Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:01 PM

Lets think of me as dumb dumb #1 and need it in step 1 through whatever?

Providing I have the correct code in all custom islands how do I make it show between threads?
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:02 PM

Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.

this is what I have been doing but there is a no show,

there is not another area over riding this is there?
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:03 PM

Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.

Dumb#1 Reply lol
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:04 PM

Originally Posted by Mark S
Forum Settings : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.

Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.
Originally Posted by sundance
Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.

this is what I have been doing but there is a no show,

there is not another area over riding this is there?


No but log out and back in to be sure
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:05 PM

even after I turn it on and check the source code on the page it is not showing the custom island code
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:07 PM

Forum Settings : Select your Forum : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:07 PM



No but log out and back in to be sure[/quote]

tried it and nope
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:08 PM

Originally Posted by Mark S
Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.


Main Control panel
Click on custom islands be sure there all there !!
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:10 PM

I just Know Ruben is laffin at me lol
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:14 PM

I thank you for your help Mark,

I do have 30 and am checking each one to make sure the code is code and I am adding Always Build to it just in case I have one in more than one area or want to in the future
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:22 PM

OK I checked each one and all are good to go.
How this started was yesterday I put bad code in and got an error upon trying to save the file so i eminently reversed the back to good code and it saved.

Then I noticed that none of the custom were showing in between threads.

I can make them show anywhere else on the site just not between the post.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:24 PM

Ok Sundance

If there still not showing in the drop box.

1. Check permissions again via the control panel "Permissions Check"
2. Regardless if you allow certain groups to see or not see the ads they should still appear in the drop box your attempting show them.
3. I dont have <?php php?> tags in my custom island code.
4. when you get the islands to show in the drop box then think about who you want to show them too.
5. Modify the permissions for "View Ads" this is the section between 1st n second posts.

I'm over in the UK its 22:22 and i have a love life lol
I'm sure one of the others will guide you.

An After thought ?
Go to custom island 1
Take the code out and replace with

PHP Code
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */ 


6. Check your drop boxes again.

Thats it for now.
What ever it is, its an oversight and can be fixed with the attention to detail.
Its something stupid now.

Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:24 PM

I am at such a loss with it, that this is why I was wondering other than just choosing it tin the forum setup is there another place in the control panel that needs to be turned on or ?
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:26 PM

give us a link to where you mean because i looked earlier and i can see ads between 1st and second post
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:27 PM

OK I just loaded this,
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */

into this forum and no show. should pop after 1st post
http://sundance-communications.com/...omdial_Small_Office_Lite_-_Fe#Post584457
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:28 PM

Originally Posted by Mark S


Ive just visited this forum Click me and i can see and advert on the left side. Rotating images.



Has an add in under the words "Signup for our Top Telecom Sites Search!"
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:29 PM

Originally Posted by sundance
OK I just loaded this,
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */

into this forum and no show. should pop after 1st post
http://sundance-communications.com/...omdial_Small_Office_Lite_-_Fe#Post584457


clear your cache

I get a search box
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:30 PM

i see this from my link

Attached picture xxhelp.jpg
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:32 PM

from your link the post above was my link

Attached picture xxhelp.jpg
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:33 PM

You are correct my man, this has been a chrome issue this whole time I just tried IE and see it just fine F......................................<
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:35 PM

I'm using chrome.
But do you have 20,00000 tabs open lol

close chrome and start with no tabs.


its happened to me in the past with firefox but don't open many tabs in IE so it just works.

When strange things happen close all tabs.
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:36 PM

I am going to a temp to hang myself now, Mike out, thx Mark sry for the run around!
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:38 PM

Mark takes off his "I was needed Badge" lol
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 10:53 PM

Mark,
just an FYI, the only window I had open in chrome was our site, and this site for the support, so I am guessing this UBB version was conflicting with our older version and took control or something like that. As soon as I closed chrome here it started to load on my side.

That was a fun one!
Posted By: sundance

Re: customizable islands - 02/12/15 11:30 PM

I put chrome to the test to see if the UBB was the causing it and found this,

I cleared all my cache/browsing in chrome and rebooted pc, upon re entering the site I can see the custom island, after I make one change to any of the islands they all go away. In IE not so, I can still see them just fine. Chrome, oh boy this is a new one for me.
Posted By: Mark S

Re: customizable islands - 02/13/15 08:33 AM

Chrome has never given that much trouble as its my browser of choice.
But Since i had a crazy experience with Firefox a few years ago, it go me checking in other browsers, before i admit my self to the local nut house.

You may want to consider re-installing chrome or making sure your on the latest update.

Gald you got there in the end.
Posted By: Ruben

Re: customizable islands - 02/13/15 09:52 PM

Let me back step a little bit.
First If you found that file permissions failed in the ubb control panel.
The very first item is to make sure they all are correct now.
And pass.
Second because you had bad file permissions I would open the ubb control panel and select the clear cache option, but don't submit yet.
Then use your ftp program and navigate to the cache folder(not custom builders)
and delete all the files except for the html files.
Then switch back to the ubb control panel and run the clear cache.
That will force all the cache files to be rebuilt as well as knowing that all of them were.
The cache folder holds all of your island scripts and if some are out of sync they won't update correctly after you make changes to them.
© 2017 UBB.threads PHP Forum Software Community