UBBCentral
Posted By: Bad Frog windows 7 - 10/25/2009 1:39 PM

I had originally set aside the funds to buy a retail full version of 7 professional, but decided to go with home premium instead, I don't need the remote desktop feature, I have had it for years with XP Pro and never used it.

I decided on the upgrade package to save even more money, i figured I would deal with the hassle of having to install XP again first, so I ended up grabbing the family upgrade pack.

for shits and grins, I ran the upgrade installed on this machine that I have been running hte release candidate on for the past couple of months; now, MS said that you couldn't upgrade that way, you had to have a fully activated version of XP or Vista... well, they were wrong! I installed my upgrade, copied my user folder back over and only had to reinstall a couple of things, and was back in business in no time!

so, onto the laptop. older Dell inspiron 9100. the DVD drive wont read the DVDS! says i need a drive than can read UDF format... wth? so I pull an IDE DVD drive out of a box and connect it via a USB adapter and install it that way. that was a little slower, but it worked. my laptop is running faster and boots faster than it ever did with XP

now the third machine, my old AMD box.
you would think that they would have SATA drivers built into the damn installer by now, but no.. I had to load drivers still. it took 2 attempts to install windows 7 on that machine because of driver issues and hard drives vanishing. that box also has an older soundblaster card in it (audigy 2zs) and there are no drivers for it that work apparently (not officially anyway, I found some though)

I have been getting my home network sorted out again, setting up my new "home groups" (special network shares for windows 7 machines only), been getting all my software installed again on each machine and testing everything.

for someone who hates change, I am happy with this.
Posted By: JAISP Re: windows 7 - 10/25/2009 11:42 PM
Why does XP Home show the ability to remote desktop but don't actually work?
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 10/26/2009 1:42 AM
you can remote out, just can't host a remote connection, hosting is pro/business versions.
Posted By: ScriptKeeper Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 8:37 AM
I couldn't wait to get my hands on 7. I hated Vista from day one. 7 has made a big difference. My PC isn't choked up any more, it's not constantly indexing and it is possible to run more that 2 apps at once with a dual core CPU. Vista didn't seem to think so. smile
Posted By: Gizmo Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 8:44 AM
Same here SK; totally a noticeable differance using W7 Ultimate on a quad core with 4gb ram...
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 1:52 PM
Now, how many years did it take Microsoft the finally get it right? LOL. At least I didn't have to pay out all that money for 7 as it came on my new laptops. So far I've not had any problems with it.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 2:20 PM
why run ultimate? it just has the multi language suppport...
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 2:49 PM
Because of the added security, ease in connecting to networks enhanced backup features and the ability to run programs in the Windows XP mode if needed.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 2:56 PM
you can do that in the business release., except for bitlocker,
how much software do you have that needs to be run in an XP virtual machine?
backing up data to your home network, sychtoys is free and works awesome.

just boils down to spending a lot more money than needed for an OS.
bitlocker should have been included in all releases I think.
Posted By: SD Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 4:34 PM
7 ultimate 64bit here and lurvin it!! i have only 1 program requiring XP mode and it actually works BETTER.. reason being, it is a VPN client which used to change the computer's IP and i was essentially slaved to that one task while it was running..

now, with XP mode only the XP mode program has the IP and the rest of my computer (i run 3 monitors) are free to do what they want..

/me happy wink
Posted By: Gizmo Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 10:06 PM
Originally Posted by GregK
Now, how many years did it take Microsoft the finally get it right? LOL. At least I didn't have to pay out all that money for 7 as it came on my new laptops. So far I've not had any problems with it.
Well, I still see some avenue's for improvement, but they've done better than in the past.

Originally Posted by Bad Frog
why run ultimate? it just has the multi language suppport...
Ultimate gives you more support with remote connections; plus I used an OEM.

Posted By: Ian Re: windows 7 - 12/05/2009 10:07 PM
Don't forget if you have children, you can get educational versions for a low price smile
Posted By: skylines Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 4:26 AM
I just got myself a Windows 7 and so far I love it. So much faster than vista!
Posted By: jodevizes Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 3:24 PM
Can 7 open jpegs created with a Mac ? I am trying to lift some old photos of my old Mac but XP says cannot read this format.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 3:33 PM
Originally Posted by jodevizes
Can 7 open jpegs created with a Mac ? I am trying to lift some old photos of my old Mac but XP says cannot read this format.


jpg is a universal file format, non-OS dependent...
Posted By: ScriptKeeper Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 6:01 PM
Just change the .jpeg extension to .jpg wink
Posted By: thefallsman Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 9:39 PM
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/13/2009 9:49 PM
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/14/2009 11:19 AM
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?


Yes, Windows7 Home Premium. This is the version usually installed on new Pc's and laptops these days.
Posted By: ScriptKeeper Re: windows 7 - 12/14/2009 1:35 PM
I tell you what I have noticed (and maybe someone can solve this for me) whenever I change something in a folder it doesn't update until I refresh the folder view.

Example: If I add something to the folder (while viewing the folder contents) it doesn't appear until it's refreshed. If I change the name of a file and click Enter, again, the file name displays the original until it's refreshed.

It gets very confusing. crazy
Posted By: skylines Re: windows 7 - 12/14/2009 2:07 PM
A lot better indeed and I am in love with it.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/14/2009 2:11 PM
Originally Posted by GregK
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?


Yes, Windows7 Home Premium. This is the version usually installed on new Pc's and laptops these days.


I thought it was just "home", my bad
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/14/2009 2:47 PM
I thought the same thing frog, until I too another look at the releases.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/18/2009 3:58 AM
ok, here is something I don't like...

I right click on an HTM/HTML file, select edit, and it pops up in Word, I don't want it to do that.. I want it to open in notepad when I select edit.

thoughts?
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/18/2009 4:26 AM
For some reason it's associating HTML files with Word as your editor. You should be able to associate those files with notepad or whatever other editor you might want to use.



Attached picture htmleditor.jpg
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/18/2009 12:29 PM
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with
Posted By: grin Re: windows 7 - 12/20/2009 11:53 PM
I prefer Xp than seven and vista a lot of my friends prefer Xp too maybe I guess their just used to it then.
Posted By: Philip Re: windows 7 - 12/22/2009 1:05 PM
I just got Windows seven for both of my laptops and yeah it's good alright, but I'm not sure it's worth the price they charge... I mean it's not that different from vista and I don't think it's as good as Mac. Mabye if I fiddle around with it some more I'll find it of better use...
Posted By: bbailey15 Re: windows 7 - 12/26/2009 11:38 AM
So, BadFrog,

Would you then recommend staying with XP till it finally dies or upgrading to Win 7 Home Premium? This is something I've been considering for a while now.

Thanks
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/26/2009 1:46 PM
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with


I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to do. For instance, I have php files set to open with a php editor which then allows me to make any changes needed. All I did was click on the php file, which then brings up a window with a list of installed programs you can then set to always run for that file. If it's not on the list, there is an option to browse for it. When found, it autodefaults to "Always open with this program". Once set I just click on the file I want to edit and my editor of choice runs and loads the file.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/26/2009 6:45 PM
Originally Posted by GregK
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with


I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to do. For instance, I have php files set to open with a php editor which then allows me to make any changes needed. All I did was click on the php file, which then brings up a window with a list of installed programs you can then set to always run for that file. If it's not on the list, there is an option to browse for it. When found, it autodefaults to "Always open with this program". Once set I just click on the file I want to edit and my editor of choice runs and loads the file.


certain files in win7 have separate open and edit associations. when right click on an html file, they are associated with my browser for open, but there is also an edit option, but when I select edit, it opens them in MS word to edit them.
Posted By: Bad Frog Re: windows 7 - 12/26/2009 6:46 PM
Originally Posted by bbailey15
So, BadFrog,

Would you then recommend staying with XP till it finally dies or upgrading to Win 7 Home Premium? This is something I've been considering for a while now.

Thanks


if XP covers all your needs, stay with it. I wanted a 64 bit OS to handle more memory and take full advantage of my CPU
Posted By: GregK Re: windows 7 - 12/26/2009 7:14 PM
I'd agree with Frog here, if XP is doing everything you need, stick with it. But, if you're going to be upgrading, then 7 is the way to go. I had an older laptop that had XP on it and I saw no reason to make the jump, since it would only handle a 32bit OS so Windows 7 would not have given me any more enhancements other than maybe some 'eye candy'.
Posted By: Marcus Re: windows 7 - 12/28/2009 4:42 PM
Not too happy with Vista. Hope Windows 7 is a change for the better.
Posted By: Mike & Jayne Re: windows 7 - 12/30/2009 7:18 PM
Just installed Win 7 Pro and have to admint coming from Vista I really like it
© 2019 UBB.threads PHP Forum Software Community