If you enable custom fields, the value of field 2 will automatically display in field 1 while editing your profile.

This becomes a problem if you update other fields later, as the value of field 1 will be resetted to the value of field 2 as soon as you press the Submit button.

I.e. to make sure field 1 keeps its contents, you have to re-enter the info for this field again and again whenever you want to update your profile.