It is done that way on purpose as a security measure to ensure that the person who asked for the account is the same person that replies to the e-mail and authenticates to the board.

Then when they login with that crazy password they can go into their PROFILE under "My Stuff" drop-down link and change the password to what ever they want within reason.

.