It seems as though I successfully upgraded the site. One place where I screwed up was that I executed install.php instead of upgrade.php. This wiped out some of my settings, but, fortunately, not any of the important stuff.
Thanks for the help,
Bill
Yes you use the install.php instead of the upgrade.php you will wipe out your config.inc file and have to reset all of your original settings.