Well here is my thinking. You may be connecting to the database but the assigned user for ubb does not have rights to modify the table.
So either look at the user name/password again.
Verify that user has global privileges.
I have never seen the message you get for linked tables have been deactivated. But I would guess the assigned user has limited rights.