well that'd be because you overwrote your configuration file... The upgrade steps are to take the default archive from the member area, delete the includes, cache_builders/custom, and styles directories and then upload the files.
The reasons for this is that the includes file holds configuration data, the cache_builders/custom directory holds your side boxes, and the styles directory holds your style data; all of which will break something or another.