it does look like i can deactivate that group.
And it keeps the members and privileges in place.
NOTE : Deactivate and Delete are not the same thing.
So it looks like i can create a new group as a subscription and use the same group icon. (Give it a new name or it complains).
and it should all work fine.
That's the theory lol