When I do what was mentioned here, regular members can still see the portal box, but cannot get access to the who's online page, if they happen to have it bookmarked. Is there something in this setting that needs to be changed?
$Private = 0;
if ($user['USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL'] != "Administrator") {
$Private = 1;
}