I read through the instructions.

I'd make by back-up via FTP.

There is no mention if it matters if my board should be turned off when saving the files.

Will it effect my live board while I'm downloading files?

I assume the only thing that will happen is that my back-up copy will not include any new posts/member data that was updated during/afer the back-up?