You'd have to do the same if you restricted permissions on the current forum. Also, due to the way that private forums work, all of the content in the existing forum would be hidden when you made the switch.
Unfortunately there is no "members only" permission or mode in UBB.classic, and that makes things a bit on the difficult side sometimes.