Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#168534 11/18/2006 7:01 AM
Addict
Addict
To be honest I've never tried this before, even though my forums have been running for a few years now.

- How often should the database be optimized?

- What is the best way to do this (command line perhaps?)?

- Is there any risk involved, could the database become corrupted as a result of this operation?

H
Addict
Addict
H Offline
I've done this just a couple of times through the boards control panel after closing the board. Haven't had any problems to note when doing so.

Addict
Addict
How exactly do you optimize the database through the board's CP?

Also, how long did it take?

H
Addict
Addict
H Offline
Crud. I wish I still had a 6.5 version running to see it. You close the board and the optimize function is in there somewhere. At least it used to be.

I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
I think it got taken out. Might be wrong though.

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Control Panel -> Tools -> SQL Command Tab, save the following queries if you want them:

Analyze Database:
Code