Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update #210653 04/25/2008 2:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
Windows Vista Service Pack 1 is now available via Windows Update.

File size is 66.9MB

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ScriptKeeper] #210656 04/25/2008 4:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
eek...............

Who will the brave to upgrade first wink

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210658 04/25/2008 4:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
I've just done it. Took 1 hour 5 mins to install after the download (PC running intel Pentium D 2.80Ghz Dual Core with 2GB RAM). Nothing obvious in the update and no problems as yet. smirk

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ScriptKeeper] #210663 04/25/2008 5:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
I only have one Vista machine and to be honest I don't know if it automatically updates itself or not!

I haven't even configured email after six months!


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210666 04/25/2008 5:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
no emails for 6 months???

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210672 04/25/2008 5:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
I heard it was to be released on DVD there were so many patches and fixes??


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210673 04/25/2008 5:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
I will wait for the betamax version wink

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210675 04/25/2008 5:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
ha ha quality

I have to use vista in work now and its like
being a handicapped, i cant find bugger all.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210676 04/25/2008 5:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
try finding your own local IP - it was easy in XP - very hard in Vista!

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210677 04/25/2008 5:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
i use ipconfig /all

but that's only because it was easier to use

run cmd
then blar blar...

But i know what you mean.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210679 04/25/2008 6:00 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Originally Posted by Mark S
ha ha quality

I have to use vista in work now and its like
being a handicapped, i cant find bugger all.


My sentiments exactly....

That's what I say to everyone who asks me about Vista...

"I can't find bugger all"


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210680 04/25/2008 6:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
My only hope is that over time i will get better at it
and then i will be the smart one when the rest switch over lol.

But come 2009 there could be a new OS frown


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210681 04/25/2008 6:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Originally Posted by Ian
no emails for 6 months???


Well, it's only one machine (and I can use webmail on it.)

Plus, I thought it would be useful to get to know Vista before the inevitable changeover.

Now I wonder if the changeover is in-fact inevitable?


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210682 04/25/2008 6:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Originally Posted by Mark S
But come 2009 there could be a new OS frown



Would that be 'Windows 7' or whatever?

Well yeah, couldn't we just bypass this (ahem) version and move onto something better ( laugh laugh laugh - oooh I kill me!)


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210694 04/25/2008 7:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
I've rolled several clients back to XP from Vista... they've all expressed that running vista is like preinstalling viruses all over your machine... Sure it's pretty, but it is klunky... And for all the resources it requires you'd think it'd run like a friggen mainframe...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210734 04/27/2008 2:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Originally Posted by Mark S
i use ipconfig /all

but that's only because it was easier to use

run cmd
then blar blar...

But i know what you mean.


Actually out of the box the RUN command is not even shown, you have to enable it.

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ntdoc] #210737 04/27/2008 6:13 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Humm will have to check that lol
I just went accessories and cmd when i couldn't find the run.
Where's that setting?

Or if you wish you can let me find it over a few weeks lol


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210749 04/27/2008 12:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
Right click the task bar, select Properties, click Start Menu, Customize, scroll half way down and check Run Command, click OK.

crazy

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ScriptKeeper] #210752 04/27/2008 1:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Thanks

I'm finding that people who have never got into computer
before vista like it?

But its the old school xp >> Vista who hate it IMO?

If it grows on me then its going to take a long time.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ScriptKeeper] #210755 04/27/2008 2:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Originally Posted by ScriptKeeper
Right click the task bar, select Properties, click Start Menu, Customize, scroll half way down and check Run Command, click OK.

crazy


Are you actually meant to find that ? confused


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210757 04/27/2008 2:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Originally Posted by Mark S
But its the old school xp >> Vista who hate it IMO?

If it grows on me then its going to take a long time.


Yeah, likewise. Most previous versions of windows have just sort of rolled into each other. But not this one frown


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210761 04/27/2008 4:40 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
I may as well put my mouse in my left hand as its slowing me that much lol


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Mark S] #210762 04/27/2008 7:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Interesting analogy Mark - and a very good one smile


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210770 04/28/2008 12:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,796
AllenAyres Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,796
I updated - 4mb and haven't noticed any difference (I had updated a few days ago too, so it updated what hadn't been done yet).


- Allen
- ThreadsDev | PraiseCafe
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: AllenAyres] #210790 04/28/2008 2:09 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
not even showing when I go to windows update frown

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Ian] #210803 04/28/2008 7:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
driv Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,468
Loopholes keep Windows XP alive
PC makers are finding ways to keep selling Windows XP despite Microsoft efforts to remove it from sale.

Link


Using version :: 7.7.2
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210841 04/28/2008 5:23 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
yehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

XP XP lol


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: driv] #210962 04/30/2008 7:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
You know, you can just use the search bar for the run commands; found that out today lol...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Gizmo] #210970 05/01/2008 2:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Yep - but still prefer the START RUN myself.


Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ntdoc] #210971 05/01/2008 3:09 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,844
Originally Posted by ntdoc
Yep - but still prefer the START RUN myself.
Still prefer XP myself wink


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: Gizmo] #211030 05/01/2008 8:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ROFLMAO - Yeah, me too tongue

Re: Windows Vista SP1 now available via Windows Update [Re: ntdoc] #211156 05/03/2008 6:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
My Vista Business Edition at work hasnt done sp1 yet
and its not listed and i think its crap lol


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo

Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Having issue with redirects to UBB classic URLs
by amciotola - 10/16/2019 1:11 AM
Unable to save General settings
by amciotola - 10/13/2019 4:23 AM
I see signature line images, but no avatars
by Morgan - 10/12/2019 2:21 PM
Show PDF
by Geoff - 10/09/2019 1:33 AM
Subscription’s Auto Return URL for PayPal
by Geoff - 09/27/2019 12:10 AM
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (JAISP, isaac), 91 guests, and 426 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20190930)