Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
This has happened twice now?
I have 1 global moderator, and when ive made a new group (Guessing) my global moderator goes back to being a moderator only.

I'm not sure whats causing it,
but for it to only happen twice its either.

1. Making a new Group?
2. Copying permissions from one forum to another.

Its something that i'm doing not very often.
But i also dont notice it straight away, i will watch for it now, but it could be something else too?


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
this is in 7.4.1

When you update or Submit on the Moderators Page in the CP

This is also when the Global Moderator appears
all over the place ( Reported Bug )


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
addict
addict
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
I did have the same issue (especially after the last patch) I took out ALL mods from ALL forums saved... then added all the mods back to the forums they were assigned and it took out the double,triple (and more) times certain mods were listed as well as fixed my ability to keep my global moderators.

Dunny

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
7.4.2

Originally Posted by Dunny
I did have the same issue (especially after the last patch) I took out ALL mods from ALL forums saved... then added all the mods back to the forums they were assigned and it took out the double,triple (and more) times certain mods were listed as well as fixed my ability to keep my global moderators.

Dunny


So to fix this i have to remove all modeators from all forums ?

99 forum someone's having a laugh.

Is this the only way?
As ive just gone through removed a global moderator from being listed 9 times in each of the forums he's tagged as a moderator too.

And - because i haven't done the above that he looses there
global moderator status and i have to add it again.

I hope i don't have to remove all 15 moderators from various forums, its a mine field as it is.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Bloody hell he's listed x10 time now frown


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
okay ive done as you suggested and it seemed to work !

Not so fast.

If you go to your global moderators profile in the CP
change him to a Global Moderator.

It starts up again.

Duplication and also loosing his status. frown


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
I'm working on tracking this one down.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
addict
addict
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
Ok update. I had to play with it again. When I added a global mod.... seems if you want to upgrade them to GB then REMOVE any mod privs that one mod has in any forum. (they are the only one that needs to be removed.) Then submit.. give global mod permissions and add specific forums for that mod again.

Trick is do not give mod privs back UNTIL you set them as Global Mod, THEN do the mod privs.

It happened to me again and I decided to try something a little easier first and that worked well and is stable (at least on mine).
And until Rick works his magic touch.

Dunny

Last edited by Dunny; 01/20/2009 12:47 PM.
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
addict
addict
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
Another quick to addon just as info.

IF you have to add another global mod you will have to remove ALL those names with Global Mod privs for it to stay "fixed". So before you add (or remove) a global mod. Remove all forum mod privs for all your globals.

I THINK that it has to do with Global mods automatically getting moderator rights in all forums they have access to. So Rick if I may suggest maybe making it so that if the permissions are there, they just auto-add to the list (so that they are already shown as a forum moderator in the moderator listing) I think this is ultimately the reason why they are getting added again and again, mainly because the permissions get updated but it doesn't look to see if they are already present as a moderator in that list. *shrugs* Just trying to help.

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Originally Posted by Rick
I'm working on tracking this one down.


Have a Moderator in a few forums.
Make him a Global Moderator via his (CP) profile.

Return to the Moderators Screen and just hit update.

He duplicates,
and he's no longer a Global moderator.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,358
Y
Veteran
Veteran
Y Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,358
found the buglet in /admin/domodmanage.php

query:
SQL Query
// Grab all uids that are already moderators or administrators
$query = "
	SELECT USER_ID,USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL
	FROM {$config['TABLE_PREFIX']}USERS
	WHERE USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL='Moderator' OR USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL='Administrator'
";

It checks for existing mods/admins, but it does not check for global mods.

Replace it with:

SQL Query
// Grab all uids that are already moderators or administrators
$query = "
	SELECT USER_ID,USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL
	FROM {$config['TABLE_PREFIX']}USERS
	WHERE USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL LIKE '%Moderator' OR USER_MEMBERSHIP_LEVEL='Administrator'
";

And it should fix things up.

Last edited by blaaskaak; 02/01/2009 4:47 PM.

[Linked Image from siemons.org]
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,554
Likes: 76
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,554
Likes: 76
Maybe this will make the quick fix/add ons for 7.5!


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
I hope so its a pain in the arse my Global Moderator is spreading like flees. . .

Members think he's out to rule the world lol

Rick ?


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Yes, this is in for 7.5. Thanks for spotting that Blaaskaak.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
Yarp™ comes thru again!!!

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
W
newbie
newbie
W Offline
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Was there ever a qucik fix for this worked out? I tried blaaskaak's alteration (thx) but it doesn't seem to fix the prob. Do I need to remove all mods and then reinstate them? Any help appreciated!

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,358
Y
Veteran
Veteran
Y Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,358
My fix works for me here.


[Linked Image from siemons.org]
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 222
enthusiast
enthusiast
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 222
For people who already have a database which is infected with multiple moderators, this will be the fix:


Open /scripts/postlist.inc.php
Search for the line SELECT t1.USER_ID,t2USER_DISPLAY_NAME (Line 229 ?) and replace it with:
SELECT DISTINCT t1.USER_ID,t2.USER_DISPLAY_NAME

Do the same with showflat.inc.php


Rob


My place to be: http://www.freesat.nl
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
i don't consider that a solution, robje. it's a bandaid and should be temporary..

ideally the actual DB should be fixed in the admin cpanel..

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 222
enthusiast
enthusiast
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 222
True, just till the fix pops up in 7.5.1

Rob


My place to be: http://www.freesat.nl

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
search error on this site.
by Ruben - 02/24/2024 12:52 PM
UBB 20 Years button
by Morgan - 02/20/2024 4:21 PM
Attachment/Cloudflar
e issue

by Morgan - 02/15/2024 5:47 AM
Forums down
by Nightcrawler - 02/14/2024 2:31 PM
How is this possible?
by Baldeagle - 02/08/2024 2:49 PM
Who's Online Now
4 members (Gizmo, Ruben, ECNet, Morgan), 270 guests, and 390 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)