This is a tad bit confusing, so bear with me.

On our forums, we have a signature image that we give to users who have been 'bad.' We go to the control panel, uncheck the 'User is Able to Update Profile,' and put in our own custom image into their signature that says "I was almost banned"

Now, someone found a way around this, and I am unsure if this is a bug, but it's annoying.

Even though we have checked that the user is not able to update profile, the user is STILL able to disable the 'signature' option in their Preferences. This allows them to remove the BANNED signature that we have put in.

Now, is this designed behavior? Shouldn't the ability to have a signature or not be part of updating one's profile? Shouldn't that be blocked as well, once we disallowed them from updating their profile?