They are NOT modifying their profile in any manner whatsoever. They are adjusting a Posting Preference, which they set the default value for in their Profile. Honestly, it isn't misleading. It would be if you were not able to adjust that preference. Plus the checkbox only affects the current post, as I pointed out early in this thread.