OK I didn't realize there was a section to edit the .tpl files.
So now that I know I can get to the .tpl files, do I have to close the forum when I make the edit or can I do it on the fly?
I live dangerously and edit the files live; always have lol...
i think though that editing any files you should close your forum, and the UBB.C route of doing things is always clear your cache after making updates to template files.