There should be an option for a system to be configured to allow an additional "notify" by a given user after a moderator edit, that is, reset the "notify" restrictions back as if it were a fresh post.
• If the moderator makes a mistake and blows the edit on a bad post, the whistle blower can't follow up with another "notify" for an additional correction.
• We have a classifieds forum where the poster clicks on "notify" to mark the sale closed. If the poster uses "notify" first for an edit, he/she can't use "notify" again later to close the sale and instead has to rely on a PM* to a specific moderator (who might be out of town!).
*Getting to PMs from an e-mail are so inefficient now, requiring three screen loads instead of just one under Classic. Annoying. I want my one-click back!