The registration queue is a place that pending registrations stay; when you have it off it simply houses those users which are awaiting email verification.
So where you have the registration queue disabled, you still have the email validation enabled, which utilizes this queue by design as a place for you to be able to manually approve users.
When waiting for email validation, users will be held in the queue for (I think) 24 hours.