Rick, it's my understanding that once a user "logs in" it'll change the URL to the "Full URL" listed in the cp, regardless of whether or not "Multi URL Access" is selected (at least I've seen this in the past).
I'm also curious if the behavior I've previously observed still exists and still exists for https sites (ie accessing the site https and logging in)