Just thinking out loud.
Currently when you close a board a user gets a message that the board is closed.
Why not still allow the user to view everything but disallow posting.
Are there issues with that thinking?
I realize that things may hickup if changing styles, etc.
But it seems to me when you close a board it is irritating to the user that they can't even browse the forum.