A lot of time can be wasted by uploading all files. Why not install the upgrade.php file (along with the install folder) and check what files need to be changed in the first place?

Later on in the upgrade process you are instructed to delete the install folder, but what about the sessions directory that (in some cases) was also installed strictly for upgrading purposes? Can that be erased too?