Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
stranger
stranger
D Offline
I just had my entire web site moved across servers and I am trying to reconfigure my UBB to make it work again.

The UBB is at http://www.thelincolnforum.net/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

Running on a Unix/Linux server on UBB version 6.0.5 (yup, it's that old). I have my license.

Everything seems to work except browsing each forum. When I try, I get the following error:
Software error:
/home/virtual/site31/fst/var/www/cgi-bin/ubb_forum.cgi did not return a true value at ultimatebb.cgi line 382.
This appears to be that the forums are not being detected properly.

What file could be corrupted? I have checked all the obvious stuff (presence of all files, permissions, etc.) I have the entire original installation as well as a backup (that used to work).

Can someone help? I'm not a programmer but I pretend to be.

Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
check vars_forums.cgi

This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]
D
stranger
stranger
D Offline
vars_forums.cgi contains all the information. I can view the forums in the control panel no prob. I have also re-uploaded all the .cgi files in ASCII, especially ubb_forum.cgi & ultimatebb.cgi. There must be some file that is missing or currupted.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
hopto menu is working (meaning vars_forums.cgi is probably fine), so I would reupload a fresh copy of ubb_forum.cgi, making sure to upload it in ASCII, and chmodding it to 755

[edit]nm, saw your last post[/edit]

Make sure that files are fresh from the zip file.

D
stranger
stranger
D Offline
Could it have anything to do with the "virtual" addressing?

The path to my CGI is reported as "/home/virtual/site31/fst/var/www/cgi-bin". On my other server (which works fine now), the path is simply "www/domainname/cgi-bin"

I am using the configuration addresses that the UBB found itself upon first run. However, there appears to still be some corruption.