Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#178949 02/21/2007 9:38 AM
Really getting tired of spending an hour each morning declining registrations from spammers. Any suggestions other than banning certain email address as the list is getting prohibitive.

Does anyone using threads have this issue? Will I escape it by switching from ubbclassic?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
I had been a longtime UBB.Classic user (we've been running it since it where free). We ultimately got bombarded by spambots on a daily basis; we're talking like 300 new spam posts per week, as a base...

Switching to UBB7.0 and we went down to maybe 5 per week... Switching to UBB7.1 and it went down to 0 due to the CAPTCHA capabilities.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #179047 02/22/2007 9:05 AM
I just love the ubbclassic so much. WE've been running it since 1999. In all those years we did not have this problem. I believe we may have been targeted by a disgruntled member who was banned when they made unfriendly attempts to redirect members to their board, dispite the fact that we offered a better free solution for their venture. He may have put the url on some site somewhere as ever since we get these false regs from all over the world and every email address.

One thought I had was to shut off registrations and ask newbies to send an email with their comment or question to qualify them for registration. I'll take a look at ubb7.1, Gizmo, Thanks

Last edited by phoebe; 02/22/2007 9:09 AM.
phoebe #179064 02/22/2007 11:46 AM
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah