Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#190019 07/05/2007 12:48 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
System:

Windows Server 2003 Enterprise on VMWare 6

IIS6
MySQL = 5.0.41-community-nt
php = 5.2.3.3

The script runs #1 fine All permissions okay.

Quote
includes/* PASSED
sessions/ PASSED
templates/compile/ PASSED
cache/ PASSED
cache_builders/custom/* PASSED
styles/* PASSED


Then I put in the details for the database and it goes to the next screen and stops.

Tried with root access and it still stops. No errors nothing.

Removed the 7.02 installer files and put the 7.1.1 installer files in place and the same results.

Tried with Internet Explorer 7 and with FireFox 2.04

No event viewer errors and no Web log errors. Anyone have any ideas where to look?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Hmm, that's a bit of an odd one. Seems like there should be an error going somewhere if it's showing a blank page. Is php configured to display errors to the browser?

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Yes but not specific errors. It's not a blank page. It gives the verbage about checking the permissions etc with a bold black CHECKING but nothing else happening. Waited a long time and nothing. You can hit the back button no problem so the browser is not hung. CPU usage remains at less than 2% so I know it's not trying to really do anything either.

Is it possible that something in MySQL or PHP is too new and needs some specific setting? I could drop back to older versions and give it a try I suppose.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
usually, if php runs out of memory, you get an error.

but, just for giggles, what is your php.ini setting for memory usage?

8M is usually the default, but that's what i get with nix and on doze (wamp) installs.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Not sure as the VMWare setup is at home and no connection to it from work.

However I've not run into any memory issues with PHP even on our production Windows Server forums.

However this is the first time I've used the php.net new installer. Normally I do a manual install / config. As it was the installer screwed it up as the .php documents for IIS can't use 8.3 file naming convention and it gave it one. Had to give it the full long path in quotes for it to work.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Hmm, anything in the mysql logs? It sounds like it's waiting for MySQL to respond. That step is pretty basic, as it just tries to connect to the database server, then switch to the database, and then create a test table.

If you're familiar with debugging, what you can do is edit the install.php script. In the step3 function, you can see where it does it's work. What I usually do to debug is add the following two lines to a certain point.

echo "We made it this far!";
exit;

So, for starters, you'd add it right above the mysql_connect line. Bring that up in your browser, and you should see the "We made it this far!" text. Next move it down after the check, and see if you still see it. If you don't then, it's a problem with connecting. If you do then, keep moving it down a few lines until you no longer see the text, then we'd know exactly where it's hanging.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Okay thanks. Yeah I do that all the time when debugging my KiX scripts.

I'll try it out later tonight when I get home.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
Try adding this at the top of the install.php file (under the <?php line):
Code
error_reporting(E_ERROR | E_WARNING | E_PARSE);


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Will if I get time. Going by the SCUBA shop to pickup my equipment. Going diving this weekend. Daughter recently got SCUBA certified at the College so she wants to go.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Wow weird as heck...


This says We made it this far!

echo "We made it this far!";
exit;
$check = mysql_connect($dbserver,$dbuser,$dbpass);


This does not
$check = mysql_connect($dbserver,$dbuser,$dbpass);
echo "We made it this far!";
exit;



Giz, your addition does not work anywhere I put it.


With this code I get
Quote
Ready to check the code now...

But then it stops right there and no errors, no output.
PHP Code
 <b>Connecting to server</b>
	</td><td class=stdautorow>
	";
	echo "Ready to check the code now...";
	$check = mysql_connect($dbserver,$dbuser,$dbpass);
	if (!$check) {
		echo "<font color=red>FAILED</font></td>";
		echo "We made it this far within the check function";
		$servererror="<font color=red>?<font>";
		$usererror="<font color=red>?<font>";
		$passworderror="<font color=red>?<font>";
		$fail = 1;
	} else {
		echo "<font color=green>PASSED</green></td>";
	} 

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Well since none of the Mods or Rick is online I guess I'll start over with older versions of MySQL and PHP and try again with a manual install.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Well it is starting to maybe look like a version issue.

Only removed the newer PHP and put in a little older PHP manually and now it runs and I get this.

Quote
Connecting to server
Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Web\rocky\forums\install\install.php on line 438


Line 438 is:
$check = mysql_connect($dbserver,$dbuser,$dbpass);



Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Well something to do with PHP settings.

I can now get past most of the steps but now that it gets to the creation of the database I'm getting this error.

Quote
Notice: Undefined variable: php_errormsg in C:\Web\rocky\forums\install\createtable.php on line 103
Failed to write config:


STEP 5
Quote
FULL_URL (http://localhost/rocky/forums) PASSED
path (C:\Web\rocky\forums) PASSED


STEP 6
Quote
All config files have been created. You now have 2 options.

You may now proceed to creating your admin user at this time.


STEP 7
(enter your admin user info for installation)

STEP 8
Quote
You may now proceed to the next step to create all of the necessary database tables.


Then you get the error.
PHP Code
if (!$fd) {
	include("install_header.tmpl");
	print "Failed to write config: $php_errormsg";
	include("install_footer.tmpl");
	exit;
} 

Line 103 is the PRINT statement.

Having gotten this far just by PHP modifications I'm reasonably certain that it has something to do with some setting I'm still missing for PHP.


Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
You'd think Rick would have done
PHP Code
 print "Failed to write config: ". $php_errormsg; 


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Basically it looks like this line is failing now:

$fd = @fopen("{$config['FULL_PATH']}/includes/config.inc.php","w");

When it tries to write out the final config. The undefined php_errormsg isn't really the problem, rather just me not checking the error. So, it must be either that it can't find it or that it can't actually write to it due to permissions?

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
I had php error printing on. With it off I get

Failed to write config:


Not sure what perms it wants but probably so. I've given too many perms as it is (IMHO) but will look at it more to see what I can find.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Don't know what's up. Continue to get this "write config" error.

Have removed / re-installed everything and it continues to hang there. Gave the "eveone" group full access to everything and no difference.

Never tried this on VMWare 6 before so who knows maybe something odd about it.

I'll try to install it with VMWare 5.5 and see if I still run into this problem.

What a royal PITA. frown

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
Likes: 1
for an easy peasy install on win2k3, i might suggest your looking into wamp. all the settings out of the box work fine.

now i know that it's NOT iis, but i was throwing it in as an option for possible future stuff for you.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,095
Likes: 1
oh I've done wamp before and it worked great, but it's come to a point where there is something wrong and I'd like to find out what it is.

My production site is IIS and my other site is Linux so both are non wamp


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
Is UBB.threads still going?
by Aaron101 - 04/01/2022 8:18 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Geoff), 1,018 guests, and 215 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)