Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#193615 08/01/2007 5:46 PM
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
I'm looking to make my UBB forums look a little more web pagey (if that makes sense to anyone :P)

Heres a good example of what i'd like to do:

http://www.black-sabbath.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/ubb/cfrm

The sidebar and images are really the sort of thing i want to do.

Could anyone give me a quick break down of what i need to know to do this, and possibly direct me to some good tutorials?

I suspect i'm going to need to know a little html or css?

Last edited by Atticus[New]; 08/01/2007 5:51 PM.
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
hmm, come to think of it, i have a feeling his site is actually all HTML, and he has the forums inserted into that? True? False?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Yes, the top and left are an insert using tables (check out CP -> Display Options -> General -> HTML Includes Tab)

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #193630 08/01/2007 9:22 PM
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
So, it would be possible to build something like that using, say, dreamweaver and a graphic design program like Gimp or photoshop?

Another question is, I have a portal page which is linked to my news forum. Any post i make in the news forum gets displayed on the news page... etc... Is there any way for me to set like a front page?

What i'd like to do is have a static introduction, sort of like a home page that doesn't get updated via the news forum.

So, picture you go to my forum.