Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
Since installing 7x and the spider tracking, I've noticed that Yahoo is all over our boards all of the time.

Our Who's Online

What gives? I am assuming something is wrong or yahoo wouldn't be doing this 24 hours / day.

[Linked Image from boards.collectors-society.com]
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
I have 4 communities, and I can view them at several other sites; it's normal; Google used to do this a lot as well, but it seems they streamlined how they crawl data

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
I dunno... it seems weird. I agree that it's a quirk in the yahoo spider, but it's probably interacting with something on the boards to loop continuously over the same junk?

That's a performance hit I could do without if we could track it down.

Has anyone analyzed their logs to see what the yahoo spiders are actually doing? Is it legit traffic or are they caught somehow?

Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
They show up in the WOL data reading different topics, forums, etc. It doesn't seem like they're 'stuck', it does seem like yahoo just sends a plethora of them out daily tho, one right after another.

- Allen
- ThreadsDev | PraiseCafe
A
journeyman
journeyman
A Offline
Hm.

Wonder if they're somehow getting an error on their end parsing what they've collected and just go back to retry the next day. frown

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer