Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
Journeyman
Journeyman
M Offline
I would like to insert a specific topic into another web page, but without all of the border boxes. Is there any way for me to link to the topic only without the rest of the forum page being displayed?

Currently I am using an inline frame to accomplish this, which lets me see the topic but since the entire UBB page is inserted into the inline frame it looks awfully cluttered.

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Not a link that I'm aware of, but you could do a PHP query and grab the data and feed it back in any layout format you want.

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Originally Posted by ntdoc
you could do a PHP query and grab the data and feed it back in any layout format you want.
recommended

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
M
Journeyman
Journeyman
M Offline
Is there anywhere I could go for an example of how a PHP query might be designed? Something that was done for another UBB.threads site would be particularly appreciated!

SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
i'd grab a custom portal and use that.

cache_builders/custom/portal_box_10.php for example..

put all of your query code in there

then grab templates/default/portal_box_10.tpl and get rid of the $tbopen and $tbclose crapola

set that in your portal settings to always build..

then in your web page.. include cache/portal_box_10.php and it will display what you want smile

another way to do it is to use a 'generic page outside of threads' (topic over @ ubbdev) example..